Netduino home hardware projects downloads community

Jump to content


The Netduino forums have been replaced by new forums at community.wildernesslabs.co. This site has been preserved for archival purposes only and the ability to make new accounts or posts has been turned off.
Photo

How to upgrade to the .NET Micro Framework v4.3 SDK


  • Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#1 Chris Walker

Chris Walker

    Secret Labs Staff

  • Moderators
  • 7767 posts
  • LocationNew York, NY

Posted 04 February 2013 - 05:51 AM

To install the .NET Micro Framework v4.3 SDK
NOTE: VS2012 requires Windows 7 or newer.

    [*]If previously installed, uninstall any older versions of the .NET Micro Framework SDK
    [*]Install Visual Studio 2012 or Visual Studio Express 2012 for Windows Desktop
    [*]Install the .NET Micro Framework SDK v4.3
    [*]Install the Netduino SDK v4.3
    [/list]To upgrade a project to target .NET Micro Framework 4.3

      [*]In Visual Studio, open your project.
      [*]Click on the Project menu. Then click on the "<Your Project Name> Properties" menu option.
      [*]Select the "Application" tab
      [*]Select the desired "Target Framework" in the pull-down
      [/list]If you try to deploy a .NET MF 4.2 project to a .NET MF 4.3 board (or vice-versa), Visual Studio 2012 will tell you that the assembly libraries' versions do not match.

      Compatibility with .NET MF 4.1 and 4.2 projects and boards
      The new SDKs will also work with Netduinos flashed with .NET MF v4.1 and v4.2.

      New AnalogInput and PWM classes -- backwards-compatibility notes
      .NET MF 4.2+ adds new AnalogInput and PWM classes. To use the earlier SecretLabs AnalogInput and PWM classes, add the respective assembly as a reference in your project and use the full "namespace + class name" of the classes.

      For instance, to use SecretLabs.NETMF.Hardware.PWM (instead of the new Microsoft.SPOT.Hardware.PWM class):
      // add SecretLabs.NETMF.Hardware.PWM.dll as a reference to your project.// PWM pwm = new PWM(Pins.GPIO_PIN_D5);// becomes...SecretLabs.NETMF.Hardware.PWM pwm = new SecretLabs.NETMF.Hardware.PWM(Pins.GPIO_PIN_D5);
      Chris

#2 Stefan

Stefan

    Moderator

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1965 posts
  • LocationBreda, the Netherlands

Posted 04 February 2013 - 10:35 AM

Great news!

 

As addition, I also made a 4.3 built for the .NETMF Toolbox. It's available at http://netmftoolbox....ol/BrowseLatest


"Fact that I'm a moderator doesn't make me an expert in things." Stefan, the eternal newb!
My .NETMF projects: .NETMF Toolbox / Gadgeteer Light / Some PCB designs

#3 Chris Walker

Chris Walker

    Secret Labs Staff

  • Moderators
  • 7767 posts
  • LocationNew York, NY

Posted 04 February 2013 - 04:44 PM

As addition, I also made a 4.3 built for the .NETMF Toolbox. It's available at http://netmftoolbox....ol/BrowseLatest

Awesome, Stefan! Thanks for keeping your popular NETMF Toolbox on the leading edge!

Chris

#4 neslekkim

neslekkim

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 350 posts
  • LocationOslo, Norway

Posted 04 February 2013 - 09:04 PM

Does this mean 4.3 for Go is coming?

--
Asbjrn


#5 Chris Walker

Chris Walker

    Secret Labs Staff

  • Moderators
  • 7767 posts
  • LocationNew York, NY

Posted 04 February 2013 - 09:21 PM

Does this mean 4.3 for Go is coming?

Yup :) The 4.3 update for Netduino Go is much bigger than the update for Netduino 2 and Netduino Plus 2, so we'll be running a separate beta program for it. Lots of new code to test in the field, lots of improvements, hoping to get many of them into the 4.3 release. Chris

#6 neslekkim

neslekkim

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 350 posts
  • LocationOslo, Norway

Posted 04 February 2013 - 10:32 PM

cool!

--
Asbjrn


#7 neslekkim

neslekkim

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 350 posts
  • LocationOslo, Norway

Posted 24 February 2013 - 02:34 PM

No news?

I'm on an new computer, windows8 and vs2012, and planned to try again with the Go, but the links above I guess are for the other netduino's.

The framework downloads and sdk, are those now the same for 32bit and 64bit?


--
Asbjrn


#8 Chris Walker

Chris Walker

    Secret Labs Staff

  • Moderators
  • 7767 posts
  • LocationNew York, NY

Posted 24 February 2013 - 10:33 PM

Hi neslekkim,

No news? I'm on an new computer, windows8 and vs2012, and planned to try again with the Go, but the links above I guess are for the other netduino's.

The Netduino 4.3 SDK supports all Netduinos--whether they are running 4.1, 4.2, or 4.3 firmware. 4.2 is the newest firmware for all Netduinos. A first beta of 4.3 (beta 1) is available for Netduino 2 and Netduino Plus 2. We'll have more betas coming; right now we're working with Microsoft on some bugfixes for NETMF 4.3.

The framework downloads and sdk, are those now the same for 32bit and 64bit?

Yup! We switched to WiX with the newest SDK installer--so it's now one unified installer. 32-bit or 64-bit. Visual Studio (devenv) or Visual Studio Express for Windows Desktop (wdexpress). I like simple installation procedures. Chris

#9 neslekkim

neslekkim

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 350 posts
  • LocationOslo, Norway

Posted 25 February 2013 - 12:29 AM

all good now.

But, the SPI bug discovered around Nwazet modules is not fixed in the Go firmware 4.2.2.1? this one:

 

http://forums.netdui...ge-3#entry39204

 

I thought I read earlier that it was fixed?


--
Asbjrn


#10 Chris Walker

Chris Walker

    Secret Labs Staff

  • Moderators
  • 7767 posts
  • LocationNew York, NY

Posted 25 February 2013 - 03:35 AM

Hi neslekkim, As I understand it, the Nwazet drivers are hard-coded to use SPI at twice the possible speed. There was a bug in early Netduino Go firmware which was accidentally running SPI at half speed on one of the GoBus channels, so I assume this doubling was a workaround. We did several tests with the Netduino Go firmware to make sure that the SPI speed, clock idle state, and rising/falling edge settings are working properly on Netduino Go. Nwazet published a workaround for their driver which lets you override the driver's clock speed manually; does that workaround fix the issue for you? You can probably also just manually update the SPI speed in their drivers so that the mainboard doesn't send data too quickly by default. Chris

#11 neslekkim

neslekkim

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 350 posts
  • LocationOslo, Norway

Posted 25 February 2013 - 06:45 AM

yes, that worked, but that also means that I have to run with an low spi speed

--
Asbjrn


#12 Chris Walker

Chris Walker

    Secret Labs Staff

  • Moderators
  • 7767 posts
  • LocationNew York, NY

Posted 25 February 2013 - 07:20 AM

Hi neslekkim, What SPI speed were you using with older firmware? What SPI speed are you using now? The bug in earlier firmware was that if you specified a speed like 20mbps, you were actually getting half that. So it's most likely that the newer "low SPI speed" is identical to the former "fast SPI speed." The STM32F4 is really fast. We expect that most modules won't be able to keep up with the 21 mbit/sec maximum speed of the SPI bus. But for those that do...the MCU should happily send data at that speed. Chris

#13 neslekkim

neslekkim

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 350 posts
  • LocationOslo, Norway

Posted 25 February 2013 - 08:16 AM

Default speed, as documented here: http://forums.netdui...screen/?p=39124

That is, using that module without saying what speed to use when initializing the module.

 

so now I'm using the workaround from that thread, that is, changing it to 10Mzh


--
Asbjrn


#14 Chris Walker

Chris Walker

    Secret Labs Staff

  • Moderators
  • 7767 posts
  • LocationNew York, NY

Posted 25 February 2013 - 11:02 AM

Hi neslekkim, Just FYI, here are the valid SPI speeds for Netduino Go: 21 mbps 10.5 mbps 5.25 mbps etc. (keep dividing by two) If you select a speed that's somewhere between those, it will drop down one speed notch. The STM32F4 uses a fractional divider to set its SPI speed...thus the divider. I'm guessing that 10.5 mbps was too fast for the module. That's a lot of data for a 48MHz microcontroller to handle that's also updating a display...so 5.25 mbps seems totally reasonable. Chris

#15 Fabien Royer

Fabien Royer

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 406 posts
  • LocationRedmond, WA

Posted 25 February 2013 - 06:26 PM

Chris,

 

"[color=rgb(40,40,40);font-family:helvetica, arial, sans-serif;font-size:14px;]I'm guessing that 10.5 mbps was too fast for the module. That's a lot of data for a 48MHz microcontroller to handle that's also updating a display...so 5.25 mbps seems totally reasonable"[/color]

 

[color=rgb(40,40,40);font-family:helvetica, arial, sans-serif;font-size:14px;]You guessed wrong.[/color]

 

  • [color=rgb(40,40,40);font-family:helvetica, arial, sans-serif;font-size:14px;]The Touch Display module runs on a [/color]STM32F205RET6 [color=rgb(40,40,40);font-family:helvetica, arial, sans-serif;font-size:14px;]at 120 Mhz.[/color]
  • [color=rgb(40,40,40);font-family:helvetica, arial, sans-serif;font-size:14px;]The DAQ module runs on a [/color]STM32F051R8T6 at 48 MHz.

In both cases, the processing work that they perform is independent of the SPI communication throughput because it's buffered and asynchronous. A simple examination of our SPI over DMA source code would have avoid a misleading statement.

 

For the record, throughput has never been an issue with our modules until GoBus introduced SPI handling changes. 



#16 Chris Walker

Chris Walker

    Secret Labs Staff

  • Moderators
  • 7767 posts
  • LocationNew York, NY

Posted 28 February 2013 - 06:52 AM

Hi Fabien, With the number of variables which can affect the processing speed of SPI data, I'm not really in a position to gauge the maximum speed that any particular code can handle without diving in, modifying it, and analyzing it on a logic analyzer. That's not something we're really set up to do for third party hardware. If you have a peripheral (in this case a [nwazet module) which works with a 10.5+ mbps SPI connection on older firmware but doesn't work at that speed on newer firmware, please capture a logic analyzer trace of the two and provide it along with a repro so we can figure out the difference between the two here with local hardware. We obviously want to help your users have the best experience their [nwazet peripherals. Thank you, Chris

#17 dmr6124

dmr6124

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 16 April 2013 - 06:25 PM

I am having an issue installing NETMF 4.2 RTM.  I get the message "Microsoft .NET Micro Framework SDK 4.3(RTM) can only be installed on computers with Visual Studio 2012, Visual C# 2012 Express, or Visual Basic 2012 Express ...".

 

Trouble is I have definitely installed VS 2012 Express for Windows Desktop.  And I most definitely don't have any old version of NETMF installed.  The only unusual thing is that I have VS2010 Enterprise and VS2008 also on this machine.

 

The next thing I am going to try is installing VS2012 Update 2 to see if that changes anything.  Has anyone else experience this issue.  BTW my OS is Windows 7 SP1 (x64).

 

John



#18 dmr6124

dmr6124

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 17 April 2013 - 01:09 PM

One correction to my post: it was NETMF 4.3, not 4.2.



#19 dmr6124

dmr6124

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 18 April 2013 - 12:39 AM

Same error after installing VS 2012 Update 2.



#20 Chris Walker

Chris Walker

    Secret Labs Staff

  • Moderators
  • 7767 posts
  • LocationNew York, NY

Posted 18 April 2013 - 01:06 AM

Hi John, Just to confirm...you are getting this error when installing the .NET MF 4.3 SDK? Can you take a screenshot with VS 2012 Express for Windows Desktop running...and the .NET MF 4.3 SDK installer error on the screen at the same time? And attach it to a post here, to give us a bit more context? Thank you, Chris




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

home    hardware    projects    downloads    community    where to buy    contact Copyright © 2016 Wilderness Labs Inc.  |  Legal   |   CC BY-SA
This webpage is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike License.