Netduino home hardware projects downloads community

The Netduino forums have been replaced by new forums at community.wildernesslabs.co. This site has been preserved for archival purposes only and the ability to make new accounts or posts has been turned off.
Photo

Direct Port IO

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 lazarus

lazarus

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 06 May 2012 - 05:28 PM

Hi, is there a faster way to switch digital output pins on and off? On arduino there is something called direct port IO that allows for a lot faster switching. Is there something similar on netduinio? The reason I'm asking is that I'm trying to generate a 38khz digital signal for IR. However when i simply toggle a pin on and off in a loop I get a speed of aprox 9khz. This is nowhere near the 38khz signal I'm looking for. Thanks for any directions... BTW, I'm new to netduino and as a .NET developer I love it!

#2 MDS

MDS

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 16 posts

Posted 06 May 2012 - 08:43 PM

Have you tryed the Pulse Width Modulator. Thats the type of thing the PWM is designed for.

#3 Paul Newton

Paul Newton

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 724 posts
  • LocationBerkshire, UK

Posted 06 May 2012 - 09:29 PM