Netduino home hardware projects downloads community

The Netduino forums have been replaced by new forums at community.wildernesslabs.co. This site has been preserved for archival purposes only and the ability to make new accounts or posts has been turned off.
Photo

Transistors and resistors

• Please log in to reply
36 replies to this topic

#1 mcinnes01

mcinnes01

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 325 posts
  • LocationManchester UK

Posted 15 April 2012 - 10:59 PM

Hi, I'm still a bit newb with electronics so I could do with a little advice.... I have 2 types of transistor one NPN and one PNP, these are 2N3904 and 2N3906. What I intend on doing is using the 3.3v logic from my shift registers to provide the control source for the transistors. So the first question is, what size resistor would I need for this? I guess all I am trying to achieve using the resistor here, is to disipate any excessive current right? This is off the data sheet: VCEsat collector-emitter saturation voltage IC = 10 mA; IB = 1 mA; note 1 - 200 mV IC = 50 mA; IB = 5 mA; note 1 - 200 mV VBEsat base-emitter saturation voltage IC = 10 mA; IB = 1 mA; note 1 - 850 mV IC = 50 mA; IB = 5 mA; note 1 - 950 mV So to calculate the resistor value, do I use the VBE @ 1ma i.e. drop of 0.85v? (3.3v - 0.85v) / 1ma = R R = 2k5 (approx) ? So that is my guess to sink the netduino conntrol voltage. Next is to work out what resistors I will need for higher power circuit that will be switched accross the collector and emittor and this will be switching relays.... The circuit will be supplied with 12v 1amp, there will be 6 relays and 2 fans running off this supply. The relays have a 25ma current drop and can take between 3 and 36 volts to switch them on and off. The fans will take 12v and 120ma. There are also 6 status Leds, these are 12v rated and prewired with a resistor of some description and I have no way of finding out any more details. I do however have a meter, so if anyone can explain how, I