Netduino home hardware projects downloads community

The Netduino forums have been replaced by new forums at community.wildernesslabs.co. This site has been preserved for archival purposes only and the ability to make new accounts or posts has been turned off.
Photo

Driving large LED-Matrix-Displays

• Please log in to reply
33 replies to this topic

#1 sHINE

sHINE

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 13 posts
  • LocationHamburg, Germany

Posted 21 June 2011 - 01:03 PM

Hi! I've just registered to the forums because I would like to evaluate the netduino for driving large led matrix-displays. I am a Software Architect using VB.Net as my main language and playing with these displays in my spare time using BASCOM (Basic-Compiler) and some Atmel Atmega's. Now that VB.Net has become available to the .net MF I would like to know if I could use this architecture to control my displays. Almost all industrial matrix-displays generally use regular shift-registers (i.e. HC595) for the columns and some 3-to-8 or 4-to-16 line-decoders for the rows. My problem is the speed of the bascom-compiler/the atmega chips. I'm not able to control a Bi-Color-Display (RG) larger than 64x32 because the data is shifted out too slowly to achieve an accurate framerate. The task itself is quite easy: Select first row, shift red/green data out, latch the registers and go on with the next row...This must be done as fast as possible to get the POV-Effect. Maybe there's someone who have some experience in driving these displays. I've read an article on how to drive a matrix using a maxim7221-chip but that's a completely different way. Thanks for any tips and excuse my weird english :) Jan

#2 Stefan

Stefan

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1965 posts
  • LocationBreda, the Netherlands

Posted 21 June 2011 - 01:56 PM