Netduino home hardware projects downloads community

The Netduino forums have been replaced by new forums at community.wildernesslabs.co. This site has been preserved for archival purposes only and the ability to make new accounts or posts has been turned off.
Photo

File Download Via Ethernet

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 newfierich

newfierich

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 15 posts

Posted 26 May 2011 - 06:19 PM

Hello all, I am new to the Netduino Plus and have just started to play with its Ethernet capabilities. I am wondering if it is possible to download a full file from an Ethernet connection. Are there any examples of this online?

#2 Chris Walker

Chris Walker

Secret Labs Staff

• Moderators
  • 7767 posts
  • LocationNew York, NY

Posted 26 May 2011 - 06:24 PM

Hi newfierich, Sure, you can do this via HTTP like you would any other webpage. You'll get blocks of data in your buffer. The big struggle is what to do with the data as you get it. I'm assuming that you want to write it out to an SD card right away, since you have dozens of KB of RAM, not MBs of RAM...but you could also parse the data for specific messages, etc. Chris

#3 newfierich

newfierich

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 15 posts

Posted 26 May 2011 - 06:30 PM

Hi newfierich,

Sure, you can do this via HTTP like you would any other webpage. You'll get blocks of data in your buffer. The big struggle is what to do with the data as you get it. I'm assuming that you want to write it out to an SD card right away, since you have dozens of KB of RAM, not MBs of RAM...but you could also parse the data for specific messages, etc.

Chris

Chris, thanks for your quick response. Reading my original question I see that it was not very clear. I would like to send a file from the sd card on the Netduino Plus to a pc. Are there any examples of this implementation? BTW love the Netduino!

#4 Chris Walker

Chris Walker

Secret Labs Staff

• Moderators
  • 7767 posts
  • LocationNew York, NY