Netduino home hardware projects downloads community

The Netduino forums have been replaced by new forums at community.wildernesslabs.co. This site has been preserved for archival purposes only and the ability to make new accounts or posts has been turned off.
Photo

Netduino 2 and Dfrobot GSM/GPS Shield

dfrobot gsm gps serial FTDI netduino 2

• Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 kiwi65

kiwi65

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts

Posted 11 September 2014 - 02:59 AM

Greetings! This is my first post here, and as a Netduino newbie I'm looking forward to learning and sharing.

I'm working on a Netduino project which includes a Dfrobot GSM/GPS shield. I've completed the obligatory 'blinky' application and can edit and deploy code successfully from Visual Studio across the USB cable to my Netduino 2.

I've now added the the GSM/GPS shield, and have hit a wall. Specifically, I'd like to use a Windows 8 terminal program to send AT commands to the GSM/GPS shield via the Netduino 2, but there are no COM ports (physical or virtual) showing in Windows Device Manager, so none of the terminal programs work.

Can the PC->Netduino USB connection be used for serial comms to the shield, or do I need a FTDI Serial 232 USB Cable to wire directly onto the shield? Is there a better way to accomplish this?

Of course, in time the Netduino application will be sending the AT commands to the dfrobot shield, but for now I'd like to 'play' a bit using a terminal program

Any help/suggestions gratefully received.

Attached File  Netduino2.JPG   104.38KB   1 downloads

#2 baxter

baxter

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 415 posts

Posted 14 September 2014 - 06:25 PM

I just bought a discounted Seeed Gprs at Radio Sack,
http://www.seeedstud...erface_Function
I now find that Seeed is selling a new model, but the basic functionality is the same as the old one.