Static or Instance - Netduino Plus 2 (and Netduino Plus 1) - Netduino Forums

Netduino home hardware projects downloads community

The Netduino forums have been replaced by new forums at community.wildernesslabs.co. This site has been preserved for archival purposes only and the ability to make new accounts or posts has been turned off.
Photo

Static or Instance

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Bernie

Bernie

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 40 posts

Posted 03 June 2013 - 02:48 PM

I'm not sure this is the right place, but I don't see a forum for general programming issues. 

I'm new to Netduino, but write C# for a living. I'm noticing that all the examples run in Main() with everything tagged as static. My general practice is to have the constructor of the main class create an instance of it's self and run from there. Can I assume the examples run as static to keep it easy to understand, but there's no reason not to create an instance and run that way?

Thanks for any input.

Bernie

#2 nakchak

nakchak

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 404 posts
  • LocationBristol, UK

Posted 03 June 2013 - 03:41 PM

I tend to create do as you suggest, as in spin up instances, that said I use a lot of static and readonly variables as it tends to make memory management easier. The microframework tends to make you think about memory managment and garbage collection more than the full framework does, but that isn't a bad thing and have seen improvements in my own full framework code as a result. Nak.

#3 Bernie

Bernie

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 40 posts

Posted 03 June 2013 - 09:55 PM

Nakchak,

Could you say a few words about memory management and garbage collection that is needed on microframework?

I'm open to learning all I can.

Bernie

#4 NooM

NooM

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 490 posts
  • LocationAustria

Posted 04 June 2013 - 08:46 AM