Netduino home hardware projects downloads community

The Netduino forums have been replaced by new forums at community.wildernesslabs.co. This site has been preserved for archival purposes only and the ability to make new accounts or posts has been turned off.
Photo

Netduino plus 2 & Serial Communication

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 PapaPep

PapaPep

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 26 February 2013 - 12:46 AM

Hello,

I'm brand new to microcontrollers/netduino so please go easy on me...it's my first post!

Here is the issue:

I am trying to communicate via a serial port (com1) on the netduino plus 2. I'm using a rs232 shifter from spark fun. (https://www.sparkfun.com/products/449) I have it hooked up to the 3.3v pin for power and have the tx and Rx lines 'swapped'. The tx and rx LEDs on the shifter light up when sending and receiving data. However the serialport_ datareceived event never fires! I've tried swapping the tx and Rx pins to no avail. (The event fires if i pull the rx wire from the netduino...although with no data...so im pretty sure the software is hooked up properly. Any suggestions?

I'm attempting to replace a pc to do my serial communication...so the netduino is acting as a 'host'. Would the cabling need to be different in this case? The device I'm communicating with requires a crossover cable rather than straight through when communicating with a pc. Do I now need to use a straight through cable?

Any suggestions would be appreciated. I'm hoping this simple project will lead to more complex (and fun) projects in the future.

Thanks!
-Greg

#2 PapaPep

PapaPep

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 26 February 2013 - 04:50 PM

I was able to get my hands on a straight-through serial cable.  That was the issue!  The only problem now is that existing cables won't work.  Does anyone know of a little adapter to switch the tx/rx pins?

#3 hanzibal

hanzibal

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1287 posts