Netduino home hardware projects downloads community

Jump to content


The Netduino forums have been replaced by new forums at community.wildernesslabs.co. This site has been preserved for archival purposes only and the ability to make new accounts or posts has been turned off.
Photo

Netduino Plus 2 Firmware v4.2.2 (update 2)


  • Please log in to reply
115 replies to this topic

#61 mtstarr

mtstarr

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 21 May 2013 - 03:14 PM

Sorry, should have said the device is at 0x68, not 0x83



#62 Chris Lovett

Chris Lovett

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 26 May 2013 - 10:45 AM

MFDeploy can see my Netduino Plus device.  But when I hold the button to boot into flash mode and run the STDFU Tester it doesn't see any devices.  I do get a warning from Windows that the USB device malfunctioned, is that normal for boot mode?

 

I'd like to try Dave VanderWekke's mode of upgrading, but I need more info on what "program" he is running to do that.



#63 Laurelle

Laurelle

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 16 posts
  • LocationFrance

Posted 26 May 2013 - 03:47 PM

Hi,

I've tryed to flash my Netduino Plus 2 with this last firmaware and followed everything. When booting after upgrade, I can't change the MAC address. I get "Unable to erase configuration sector memory".

If I try to erase the Deployment sector, I get "Error: No response from device"

When trying "Device capbilities", I get "Not supported".

I tried of course to reflash but I always get the same errors. I've tied to reboot and stop and erase, still same errors.

Thanks for your help


Doing dev is like doing sport. It's healthy :-)

#64 Chris Walker

Chris Walker

    Secret Labs Staff

  • Moderators
  • 7767 posts
  • LocationNew York, NY

Posted 27 May 2013 - 07:56 AM

Hi Laurelle, Did you use the ERASE feature in STDFU before you flashed your board with DFUSE Demo? If all else fails, you can set your MAC and IP address from code as well using the NetworkingInterfaces feature of NETMF. Chris

#65 Chris Walker

Chris Walker

    Secret Labs Staff

  • Moderators
  • 7767 posts
  • LocationNew York, NY

Posted 27 May 2013 - 07:58 AM

Hi Chris,

MFDeploy can see my Netduino Plus device.  But when I hold the button to boot into flash mode and run the STDFU Tester it doesn't see any devices.  I do get a warning from Windows that the USB device malfunctioned, is that normal for boot mode?
 
I'd like to try Dave VanderWekke's mode of upgrading, but I need more info on what "program" he is running to do that.

Is it a Netduino Plus or a Netduino Plus 2? If it's a Netduino Plus (version 1) then the flashing method is a bit different.

If you're using a Netduino Plus 2 and putting it into boot mode causes Windows to say that no driver could be loaded...there's probably an issue with the ST driver install. Please try force-uninstalling the driver ("uninstall driver permanently") in Device Manager, uninstall DFUSE, and then reinstall it.

Please let me know how if works for you,

Chris

#66 Chris Walker

Chris Walker

    Secret Labs Staff

  • Moderators
  • 7767 posts
  • LocationNew York, NY

Posted 27 May 2013 - 08:01 AM

Hi gregor,

Hi there Ive a programm which measure the pluses from a radio control.  With a netduino 1 it works and with the netduino 2 plus not ! Error: Failed allocation for 5 blocks, 60 bytes Any ideas

Do you know what line of code you're getting the error on? It seems like you're running out of RAM somehow. How fast are the interrupts arriving? Is there anything that you might be accidentally doing which would cause an overflow? Chris

#67 Chris Walker

Chris Walker

    Secret Labs Staff

  • Moderators
  • 7767 posts
  • LocationNew York, NY

Posted 27 May 2013 - 08:03 AM

Hi z3n0n,

I'm just getting to know Netduino and VC# 2010 Express. Where should the NetduinoPlus2_firmware 4.2.2.2 file be saved to? The Secret Labs Driver file? Also, should the Getting Started with Netduino C# code work as is in a NetduinoPlus2 project? I've been getting an "overloaded method" error message in the editor on the AnalogInput line. It's useing SecretLabs.NETMF.Hardware and SecretLabs.NETMF.Hardware.Netduino.

If you're upgrading the firmware on your Netduino Plus 2, just unzip that file somewhere on your computer. Then you'll use STDFU Tester to erase your board (while in bootloader mode)--and then immediately flash your board using DFUSE Demo (and those files in the ZIP file you downloaded). On the error you're getting, try adding SecretLabs.NETMF.Hardware.AnalogInput.dll to your project. Then add the words "SecretLabs.NETMF.Hardware." in front of the word "AnalogInput" in your code. There is a new integrated AnalogInput class in .NET MF 4.2 -- and it's seeing the other one which is causing you mismatch errors. Chris

#68 Chris Walker

Chris Walker

    Secret Labs Staff

  • Moderators
  • 7767 posts
  • LocationNew York, NY

Posted 27 May 2013 - 08:05 AM

Hi mtstarr,

I still cannot get I2C to work, I did reflash with 4.2.2, it seemed to complete okay. I am running a "demo program" that should at least talk to the device.   Here is the output from .Net deployment tool, any ideas what I may have missed in the upgrades? The symptoms look similar but I do not have a scope so I cannot tell. I am plugged into SCA and SCL rather than A4 and 5. The device is a  MPU9150 at address 0x83

What value of pull-up resistors are you using? Have you used this with another microcontroller in the past? Chris

#69 ziggurat29

ziggurat29

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 244 posts

Posted 27 May 2013 - 01:16 PM

Chris is the 4.2.2.2 firmware source posted?  I think what is on the download page is for 4.2.2.1.

I likes to keep up-to-date....



#70 366cobra

366cobra

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 16 posts

Posted 30 May 2013 - 04:53 AM

I seem to have a similar issue with the MAC addr.

I can set it using mfDeploy, but when the app reads it, it is always 00-04-a3...

If i then go back into mfDeploy to check, then it is still set correctly.

 

Any idea?


Can't wait for my Agent watch to arrive..........


#71 m.lai

m.lai

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts
  • LocationSardinia - Italy

Posted 30 May 2013 - 07:51 AM

Sure, here you go! Chris

Hi Chris I did not understand the difference between firmware (NetduinoPlus2_Firmware_4.2.2.2.zip) and the HEX file (NetduinoPlus2_HEX_v4.2.2.2.zip). Could you help me thanks Marco


Marco Lai
www.logicaprogrammabile.it

#72 Joshua

Joshua

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 20 posts

Posted 14 June 2013 - 12:57 AM

I noticed in this new firmware the soft reboot device capability is set to false.  Any way to change this?



#73 ryan.yaniga

ryan.yaniga

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 17 June 2013 - 06:29 PM

I am new to netduino.  Will the netduino sdk v4.2.2 source be posted?  I am having trouble building and using the sdk v4.2.0 source with other dlls built with v4.2.2.

 

Thanks

 

 



#74 dimdim

dimdim

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 23 July 2013 - 03:32 AM

Hi Chris,

 

I am very beginner in Netduino. Recently my Netduino plus 2 stopped working - win8 cannot recognize this device. I have followed your advices in the beginning of this topic. Erased firmware, then flashed it. It worked literally for the one debugging session, after it - Visual C# 2010 Express told me that there are deployment errors. That's it. I tried to reflash my NP2 - the same outcome. In device manager it is shown as 'Netduino' no'plus' neither '2'.I would greatly appreciate any advice. Thank you.



#75 engvidal

engvidal

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts
  • LocationGuarulhos - SP - Brazil

Posted 04 August 2013 - 12:39 AM

Hi

 

Can I use the st-link to flash the bootloader and after reset, use the mfdeploy to flash the other 2 files ?

 

RESOLVED:

The upgrade is running ok



#76 Chris Walker

Chris Walker

    Secret Labs Staff

  • Moderators
  • 7767 posts
  • LocationNew York, NY

Posted 04 August 2013 - 10:19 PM

Hi ryan,

I am new to netduino.  Will the netduino sdk v4.2.2 source be posted?  I am having trouble building and using the sdk v4.2.0 source with other dlls built with v4.2.2.

The source code linked on the downloads page is from the 4.2.2 branch. Does that give you what you need? http://www.netduino....no2firmware.zip Chris

#77 Chris Walker

Chris Walker

    Secret Labs Staff

  • Moderators
  • 7767 posts
  • LocationNew York, NY

Posted 04 August 2013 - 10:20 PM

Hi dimdim,

...In device manager it is shown as 'Netduino' no'plus' neither '2'.I would greatly appreciate any advice. Thank you.

Did you erase the board using STDFU Tester before flashing using DFUSE Demonstrator? Chris

#78 sjcook779

sjcook779

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 25 August 2013 - 08:00 PM

Why can't I build this firmware!  I have tried gcc, rvds (ds-5) and nothing works!  Every build attempt end in 28+ errors. I used the links on the download page to download PK4.2 qfe2 (I tried qfe1 also) and the netduino2 firmware.

 

Help PLEASE.

 

Here is the last error message.  There are too many to post here:

"D:MicroFrameworkPK_v4_2SolutionsNetduinoPlus2dotnetmf.proj" (rebuild targe t) (1) -> "D:MicroFrameworkPK_v4_2SolutionsNetduinoPlus2TinyCLRTinyCLR.proj" (Build target) (124) -> "D:MicroFrameworkPK_v4_2FrameworkCoreNative_TimeServiceCore_TimeService.cs proj" (Build target) (195) ->   D:MicroFrameworkPK_v4_2toolsTargetsMicrosoft.SPOT.Build.Targets(157,7): e rror : No MetadataProcessor tool found at "D:MicroFrameworkPK_v4_2BuildOutput publicReleaseserverDLLMetaDataProcessor.exe" [D:MicroFrameworkPK_v4_2Fra meworkCoreNative_TimeServiceCore_TimeService.csproj]   D:MicroFrameworkPK_v4_2toolsTargetsMicrosoft.SPOT.Build.Targets(157,7): e rror MSB6004: The specified task executable location "D:MicroFrameworkPK_v4_2 BuildOutputpublicReleaseserverDLLMetaDataProcessor.exe" is invalid. [D:Mi croFrameworkPK_v4_2FrameworkCoreNative_TimeServiceCore_TimeService.csproj]



#79 Big Bear Brian

Big Bear Brian

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts

Posted 28 August 2013 - 07:41 AM

Ok, using the HEX and BIN worked like a champ.  My program basically used the "Erase Firmware" from MFDeploy, then Uploaded the new HEX and BIN files, then verified the firmware version was different than the previous version.  Finally it sets the MAC address (as this gets erased) and reboots.  Everything comes up fine and it's showing version 4.2.2.2 and the Pandora's Box version 2.95 software was still on there and didn't need to be erased as it doesn't affect those sectors.

 

All in all, the process too about 2 minutes.  This is a great way to allow end users of my product to get firmware and software upgrades alike.

Would it be possible to elaborate on the steps to accomplish this? I've tried the "standard" upgrade method described at the beginning of the post (StDfu Tester doesn't seem to find the Netduino, whether I've connected it WHILE, or WHILE NOT pressing the button). I also tried your method, finding the Erase | Firmware (I included Deployment as well), then trying to upload the .HEX, followed by the .BIN files. All this resulted in was:

 

Tinybooter.hex:

Unable to deploy to device

 Invalid address 8000000 and range 9c04 Ram Start 0, Ram end 20000

 

or

TinyClr.hex files ("ER_CONFIG" "ER_FLASH"):

Unable to deploy to device

 Invalid address 800c000 and range 90c Ram Start 0, Ram end 20000



#80 timovayrynen

timovayrynen

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 29 September 2013 - 06:46 PM

Why can't I build this firmware!  I have tried gcc, rvds (ds-5) and nothing works!  Every build attempt end in 28+ errors. I used the links on the download page to download PK4.2 qfe2 (I tried qfe1 also) and the netduino2 firmware.

 

Help PLEASE.

 

Here is the last error message.  There are too many to post here:

"D:MicroFrameworkPK_v4_2SolutionsNetduinoPlus2dotnetmf.proj" (rebuild targe t) (1) -> "D:MicroFrameworkPK_v4_2SolutionsNetduinoPlus2TinyCLRTinyCLR.proj" (Build target) (124) -> "D:MicroFrameworkPK_v4_2FrameworkCoreNative_TimeServiceCore_TimeService.cs proj" (Build target) (195) ->   D:MicroFrameworkPK_v4_2toolsTargetsMicrosoft.SPOT.Build.Targets(157,7): e rror : No MetadataProcessor tool found at "D:MicroFrameworkPK_v4_2BuildOutput publicReleaseserverDLLMetaDataProcessor.exe" [D:MicroFrameworkPK_v4_2Fra meworkCoreNative_TimeServiceCore_TimeService.csproj]   D:MicroFrameworkPK_v4_2toolsTargetsMicrosoft.SPOT.Build.Targets(157,7): e rror MSB6004: The specified task executable location "D:MicroFrameworkPK_v4_2 BuildOutputpublicReleaseserverDLLMetaDataProcessor.exe" is invalid. [D:Mi croFrameworkPK_v4_2FrameworkCoreNative_TimeServiceCore_TimeService.csproj]

I'm getting exactly the same error. I'm building with RVDS 4.1. Having all the pre-required sw installed. The older FW which is provided with the wiki example (http://wiki.netduino...to-GCC-4-6.ashx) builds without any problems. Any idea how to solve this?






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

home    hardware    projects    downloads    community    where to buy    contact Copyright © 2016 Wilderness Labs Inc.  |  Legal   |   CC BY-SA
This webpage is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike License.