Netduino home hardware projects downloads community

The Netduino forums have been replaced by new forums at community.wildernesslabs.co. This site has been preserved for archival purposes only and the ability to make new accounts or posts has been turned off.
Photo

Network Question

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 mav29x

mav29x

• Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • LocationNew York, NY

Posted 13 December 2012 - 02:54 AM

Hey Everyone, I'm new to the microcontroller world and just got my Netduino Plus 2 today. Is there any way to set a hostname for the board so that I can still connect to it over the network without specifically knowing its IP address? Second newbie question - If I want to use a WiFi shield like the WiFly, I understand it needs the WiFly class libraries/drivers (not sure what the official term is) in order for it to work. Where do I get them? Thanks.

#2 Nicky

Nicky

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 78 posts
  • LocationDenmark

Posted 13 December 2012 - 07:39 AM

1st question: No and yes. Netbios naming is not supported by default, but it can be implemented somehow. I know that Netbios naming is a part of mIP-library, but it won't run side by side with the LwIP-stack without modifications. mIP can be found at http://mip.codeplex.com/ 2nd question: I know that .NET Micro Framework Toolbox (http://netmftoolbox.codeplex.com/) has some WiFly, but if thats what you need I wouldn't know - nor if it works.

ntools
TCP Listener (Beta) · FTP Server (Alpha)
Netduino Plus Go Module · Xml Parser
http://ntools.codeplex.com/

#3 carb

carb

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 352 posts
  • LocationCrystal River, Florida

Posted 13 December 2012 - 08:32 AM

Hey Everyone,

I'm new to the microcontroller world and just got my Netduino Plus 2 today. Is there any way to set a hostname for the board so that I can still connect to it over the network without specifically knowing its IP address?