Netduino home hardware projects downloads community

The Netduino forums have been replaced by new forums at community.wildernesslabs.co. This site has been preserved for archival purposes only and the ability to make new accounts or posts has been turned off.
Photo

Netduino and Gadgeteer

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 Elisoj

Elisoj

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 12 posts
  • LocationMunich, Germany

Posted 04 October 2012 - 09:17 PM

Hello Netduino Community,

I am a complete noob in embedded development and electronics. I just ordered a Netduino to follow along the new Arduino tutorials. With my background as a professional .NET developer I figured it would me more appealing to me than using an Arduino.

However, I am a bit uncertain as far as controlling motors is concerned. There is the Adafruit motor shield for Arduino which isn't that simple to get to work with the Netduino from what I found in these forums. Then there is another Arduino motor shield for which someone developed a driver. I haven't tested any of these options. Can anyone comment on the idea to use the .NET gadgeteer motor module plugged into a Netduino Go? Is this a valid way to go, has anyone tried it out?

Generally speaking, are there any incompatibility issues with using Gadgeteer modules with Netduino Go? For example, will the relay and RFID module also work?

Best regards

#2 Chris Walker

Chris Walker

Secret Labs Staff

• Moderators
  • 7767 posts
  • LocationNew York, NY

Posted 04 October 2012 - 10:26 PM

Hi Elisoj,

However, I am a bit uncertain as far as controlling motors is concerned. There is the Adafruit motor shield for Arduino which isn't that simple to get to work with the Netduino from what I found in these forums. Then there is another Arduino motor shield for which someone developed a driver. I haven't tested any of these options.