Netduino home hardware projects downloads community

The Netduino forums have been replaced by new forums at community.wildernesslabs.co. This site has been preserved for archival purposes only and the ability to make new accounts or posts has been turned off.
Photo

Trigger a function based on time of day

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 MaikolPlan

MaikolPlan

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 11 September 2012 - 01:43 PM

Hi: I'm new to Netduino world and so far all my little experiments have gone well thanks to the great community in this forum. Now I have a question for you people. I need that my Netduino Plus can send an XML file at a given time of the day. My idea is that for example at 4 p.m there is a trigger that makes Netduino call one of the existing functions in my code, that sends the XML data to my server. I don't know how to create this trigger that calls the existing function. I have read about event handlers and delegates but doesn't know if they can serve my purpose. I code on C#. Thanks in advance. Mike

#2 65tux

65tux

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 38 posts

Posted 11 September 2012 - 03:43 PM

Freaky - I'm working right now on doing almost the EXACT same thing. All I am planning to do is in the Main do a while(true) with sleeps to check to see if current time >= configured time, then spawn a thread to do my transactions. Will post code when I get it working.

#3 65tux

65tux

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 38 posts

Posted 12 September 2012 - 06:06 PM

Hopefully this works - I stripped a bunch of my other code out because I actually have an array list with multiple time of day events, but this should make sense.

TimeSpan ts;
			DateTime ShiftStart = DateTime.Today + new TimeSpan(16, 0, 0);  //schedule first event at 16:00:00 today
            while (true)
            {
                DateTime now = DateTime.Now;
                ts = shft.ShiftStart.Subtract(now);
				if (ts.Ticks < 0 )