Netduino home hardware projects downloads community

Jump to content


Photo

Early "Getting Started with Netduino Go" software and instructions


  • Please log in to reply
32 replies to this topic

#1 Chris Walker

Chris Walker

    Secret Labs Staff

  • Moderators
  • 7103 posts
  • LocationNew York, NY

Posted 10 April 2012 - 09:09 AM

To create a project for your Netduino Go:
 

    [*]Install the Netduino v4.2 SDK.
    [*]Create a new "Netduino Go" project.
    [*]Add the references for the go!modules you'd like to use (NetduinoGo.Button.dll, Nwazet.Relay.dll, etc.) using the "Add References..." dialog.
    [/list]Now go ahead and plug in the modules that you'd like to use.

    Here's an example on how to use a Netduino Go Button module:
    NetduinoGo.Button button = new NetduinoGo.Button(); // find first available buttonbutton.ButtonReleased += new NetduinoGo.Button.ButtonEventHandler(button_ButtonReleased);static void button_ButtonReleased(object sender, bool buttonState){    Debug.Print("Button has been released.");}
    If you have multiple buttons, or you'd like to specify the socket used by a button:
    // use the Netduino Go Button on socket 5NetduinoGo.Button button = new NetduinoGo.Button(GoSockets.Socket5);
    Advanced users: you can also cast an int to specify a socket...although using the GoSockets.Socket# method is cleaner.
    // use the Netduino Go button on socket 5 -- castedNetduinoGo.Button button = new NetduinoGo.Button((GoBus.GoSocket)5);
    To use an RgbLed module, you'll simply create an instance and then set its color.
    NetduinoGo.RgbLed rgbLed = new NetduinoGo.RgbLed();// change the color to orange.rgbLed.SetColor(255, 40, 0);
    To use a Potentiometer module...
     
    NetduinoGo.Potentiometer pot = new NetduinoGo.Potentiometer();// read the pot's valuewhile (true){    Debug.Print("value: " + pot.GetValue().ToString());    System.Threading.Thread.Sleep(50);}
    The Shield Base is currently in beta, and temporarily requires use of an entire go!bus channel. You can plug it into any socket--but you'll need to keep all other modules on that channel free for the moment (first channel = sockets 1-4; second channel = sockets 5-8). Once we get feedback that the current featureset is working well, we'll remove this restriction.

    To blink an LED attached to pin A5 on the Shield Base:
     
    // NOTE: be sure to add Microsoft.SPOT.Hardware.dll as a reference to your project.// use the Shield Base on socket 5 (nothing else plugged into sockets 6-8 for the moment)NetduinoGo.ShieldBase shieldBase = new NetduinoGo.ShieldBase(GoSockets.Socket5);Microsoft.SPOT.Hardware.OutputPort ledPort = new Microsoft.SPOT.Hardware.OutputPort(shieldBase.Pins.GPIO_PIN_A5, false);while (true){    ledPort.Write(!ledPort.Read());    System.Threading.Thread.Sleep(250);}
    Please post any questions or feedback here. Thank you.

    Chris

#2 Antti Lukats

Antti Lukats

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 10 April 2012 - 01:43 PM

It's going to take a few days to get the installer for Netduino Go built and tested. We're working through a few issues like default deployment (so you don't have to switch from Emulator) and "add references..." registration.

Quite a few of you have started receiving your boards, and it would be both cruel and unreasonable to unbox them and then not get to use them!

[snip]

Please post any questions or feedback here. We're pushing to get the installer tested quickly, at which point you'll be able to just create a Netduino Go app using an integrated template...

Chris


long story short: this is TRUE binary release?

NO sources no SDK yet available, right? I just want to be sure before I go seeking for the sources at netduino.codeplex.com

Antti

#3 Chris Walker

Chris Walker

    Secret Labs Staff

  • Moderators
  • 7103 posts
  • LocationNew York, NY

Posted 11 April 2012 - 07:46 AM

Hi Antti,

Thank you for your enthusiasm!

long story short: this is TRUE binary release?

Yes, these are the same binaries that we'll be including in the installer.

NO sources no SDK yet available, right? I just want to be sure before I go seeking for the sources at netduino.codeplex.com

Firmware source is on the downloads page. We'll be posting the assembly source and installer shortly.

[We're also going to integrate the Netduino Go and Shield Base source into the Netduino core trunk. Then we'll post it on netduino.codeplex.com as well.]

Chris

#4 Russ Ramirez

Russ Ramirez

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • LocationMinnesota, Twin Cities

Posted 19 April 2012 - 01:22 PM

I followed the getting started advice and everything went smoothly up to the point of pressing F5 in VS 2010.

An exception is thrown -

An unhandled exception of type 'System.Exception' occurred in Microsoft.SPOT.Hardware.dll

and upon Break, I see VS not being able to find GoHub.cs -

Locating source for 'C:\Documents\Secret Labs\Projects\Production\GoBus\GoHub.cs'. Checksum: MD5 {e5 85 7c 4b 3 ae bf 48 53 25 27 4c 59 33 b6 ff}
The file 'C:\Documents\Secret Labs\Projects\Production\GoBus\GoHub.cs' does not exist.
Looking in script documents for 'C:\Documents\Secret Labs\Projects\Production\GoBus\GoHub.cs'...
Looking in the projects for 'C:\Documents\Secret Labs\Projects\Production\GoBus\GoHub.cs'.
The file was not found in a project.
Looking in directory 'c:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 10.0\VC\crt\src\'...
Looking in directory 'c:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 10.0\VC\atlmfc\src\mfc\'...
Looking in directory 'c:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 10.0\VC\atlmfc\src\atl\'...
Looking in directory 'c:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 10.0\VC\atlmfc\include\'...
The debug source files settings for the active solution indicate that the debugger will not ask the user to find the file: C:\Documents\Secret Labs\Projects\Production\GoBus\GoHub.cs.
The debugger could not locate the source file 'C:\Documents\Secret Labs\Projects\Production\GoBus\GoHub.cs'.


Any ideas as to what might be going on?

Russ Ramirez
Russ Ramirez
KD0REN

#5 Russ Ramirez

Russ Ramirez

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • LocationMinnesota, Twin Cities

Posted 19 April 2012 - 11:12 PM

I followed the getting started advice and everything went smoothly up to the point of pressing F5 in VS 2010.

An exception is thrown -

An unhandled exception of type 'System.Exception' occurred in Microsoft.SPOT.Hardware.dll

and upon Break, I see VS not being able to find GoHub.cs -

Locating source for 'C:\Documents\Secret Labs\Projects\Production\GoBus\GoHub.cs'. Checksum: MD5 {e5 85 7c 4b 3 ae bf 48 53 25 27 4c 59 33 b6 ff}
The file 'C:\Documents\Secret Labs\Projects\Production\GoBus\GoHub.cs' does not exist.
Looking in script documents for 'C:\Documents\Secret Labs\Projects\Production\GoBus\GoHub.cs'...
Looking in the projects for 'C:\Documents\Secret Labs\Projects\Production\GoBus\GoHub.cs'.
The file was not found in a project.
Looking in directory 'c:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 10.0\VC\crt\src\'...
Looking in directory 'c:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 10.0\VC\atlmfc\src\mfc\'...
Looking in directory 'c:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 10.0\VC\atlmfc\src\atl\'...
Looking in directory 'c:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 10.0\VC\atlmfc\include\'...
The debug source files settings for the active solution indicate that the debugger will not ask the user to find the file: C:\Documents\Secret Labs\Projects\Production\GoBus\GoHub.cs.
The debugger could not locate the source file 'C:\Documents\Secret Labs\Projects\Production\GoBus\GoHub.cs'.


Any ideas as to what might be going on?

Russ Ramirez


It's important to switch from the Emulator to the real thing. In the project properties, on the .NET Micro Framework tab, change the Transport to USB from Emulator.

Russ
Russ Ramirez
KD0REN

#6 Chris Walker

Chris Walker

    Secret Labs Staff

  • Moderators
  • 7103 posts
  • LocationNew York, NY

Posted 20 April 2012 - 11:42 AM

The Netduino v4.2.0 SDK (including Netduino Go support and signed drivers) is now posted:
http://www.netduino.com/downloads/

This update replaces the Netduino 4.2 beta SDK. It will automatically upgrade all previous versions, and supports both .NET MF 4.2 and .NET MF 4.1 boards.

Installation Order
Please install the .NET Micro Framework 4.2 QFE1 SDK first...and then the Netduino 4.2.0 SDK.

Chris

#7 EricMeyer

EricMeyer

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 31 posts
  • LocationAllen, Texas

Posted 20 April 2012 - 01:54 PM

WooHoo Posted Image ... great timing! I just got my starter kit last night, but didn't have a chance to do anything with it. (I can't believe how small everything is, I guess I didn't get the scale from the videos.)

Hope my mounting plate and display get here from Nwazet soon.

-Eric

#8 carb

carb

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 352 posts
  • LocationCrystal River, Florida

Posted 20 April 2012 - 04:28 PM

The Netduino v4.2.0 SDK (including Netduino Go support and signed drivers) is now posted:
http://www.netduino.com/downloads/

This update replaces the Netduino 4.2 beta SDK. It will automatically upgrade all previous versions, and supports both .NET MF 4.2 and .NET MF 4.1 boards.

Installation Order
Please install the .NET Micro Framework 4.2 QFE1 SDK first...and then the Netduino 4.2.0 SDK.

Chris

Chris,

I seem to be missing part of the picture, the .NET Micro Framework 4.2 QFE1 SDK had a .msi file that appears to have installed every thing in it's proper place.

Under the link listed above I do not find a download for Netduino 4.2.0 SDK only for "netduino go firmware v4.2.0 source".

Is that the right file? I don't see an .msi file included in it, doesn't the files need to go into a given directory so that they can be found?

If so which directory should they be unzipped too? :unsure:

Update: I am using Windows Internet Explorer 9 to open the download link, as seen in the first picture taken at 1:33pm EDT the files for Netduino Go did not show. I swapped to Fire Fox and it shows the new files, see the second picture taken at 1:42pm. I do not know why there is a difference.

Do these files contain the new templates? I have not found them yet.

Thanks,
Chuck

Attached Files



#9 emg

emg

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 129 posts

Posted 20 April 2012 - 04:48 PM

Woohoo! Just to confirm, I have 4.2RC4 SDK (June 2011 Beta) I'm using with existing N+. I need to uninstall that first and then install this version? (remove drivers as well?) Will this affect connecting to/using my N+?

Update: Using latest Chrome, no issues with missing download links...

#10 Chris Walker

Chris Walker

    Secret Labs Staff

  • Moderators
  • 7103 posts
  • LocationNew York, NY

Posted 20 April 2012 - 09:02 PM

Hi Carb,

Do these files contain the new templates? I have not found them yet.

After you install the new SDK, do you see the "Netduino Go Application" in Visual Studio? It should appear, for both Visual C# and Visual Basic, next to the other Netduino templates.

Chris

#11 Chris Walker

Chris Walker

    Secret Labs Staff

  • Moderators
  • 7103 posts
  • LocationNew York, NY

Posted 20 April 2012 - 09:04 PM

Hi emg,

Woohoo! Just to confirm, I have 4.2RC4 SDK (June 2011 Beta) I'm using with existing N+. I need to uninstall that first and then install this version? (remove drivers as well?) Will this affect connecting to/using my N+?

You can use the new SDK with your existing board. Just be sure to remove the old ".NET MF 4.2" SDK before installing the new ".NET MF 4.2 QFE1" SDK. The Netduino SDK will automatically uninstall its former self...so no need to uninstall/reinstall there.

Update: Using latest Chrome, no issues with missing download links...

I think that the cloud computer gods may be angry :) Sometimes things take a few hours to get propogated to all servers. If anyone is still not seeing the new links, I can try to manually clear the cloud caches.

Chris

#12 carb

carb

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 352 posts
  • LocationCrystal River, Florida

Posted 20 April 2012 - 10:32 PM

Hi Carb,

After you install the new SDK, do you see the "Netduino Go Application" in Visual Studio? It should appear, for both Visual C# and Visual Basic, next to the other Netduino templates.

Chris


It does now, the original files went to C:\user\chuck\my documents\visual studio\... and so on, I moved them to C:\Visual Studio 2010\Templates\ProjectTemplates\Visual C#\Micro Framework. I will need to change the references in some of my projects.

Windows Ineternet Explorer still does not show the new files. Also I have never been able to select hardware form the menu on the top of the page and see anything other than the plain Netduino card. If I wanted to look at the Plus or the Go I had to change the address bar.

Thanks,
Chuck

#13 EricMeyer

EricMeyer

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 31 posts
  • LocationAllen, Texas

Posted 21 April 2012 - 02:20 AM

Loving my Netduino Go. So far everything I have tried has worked the first time. (I haven't done anything with the shield base or the display that I bought yet.) -Eric

#14 Gutworks

Gutworks

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 363 posts
  • LocationOttawa, Ontario

Posted 21 April 2012 - 12:14 PM

Loving my Netduino Go. So far everything I have tried has worked the first time. (I haven't done anything with the shield base or the display that I bought yet.)

-Eric

That's great to hear Eric. Netduino Go is awesome and I'm excited to hear more about your future projects.

#15 carb

carb

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 352 posts
  • LocationCrystal River, Florida

Posted 21 April 2012 - 12:42 PM

I think that the cloud computer gods may be angry :) Sometimes things take a few hours to get propogated to all servers. If anyone is still not seeing the new links, I can try to manually clear the cloud caches.

Chris


The cloud computer gods have accepted the sacrifice. Windows Internet Explorer 9 now works, and shows all of the Netduino Go! files. :D

Chuck

#16 Bendage

Bendage

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 153 posts
  • LocationIrvine, CA

Posted 20 September 2012 - 03:56 PM



The Shield Base is currently in beta, and temporarily requires use of an entire go!bus channel. You can plug it into any socket--but you'll need to keep all other modules on that channel free for the moment (first channel = sockets 1-4; second channel = sockets 5-8). Once we get feedback that the current featureset is working well, we'll remove this restriction.

To blink an LED attached to pin A5 on the Shield Base:

// NOTE: be sure to add Microsoft.SPOT.Hardware.dll as a reference to your project.

// use the Shield Base on socket 5 (nothing else plugged into sockets 6-8 for the moment)


Hi Chris,

Has the restriction been removed yet?

#17 Chris Walker

Chris Walker

    Secret Labs Staff

  • Moderators
  • 7103 posts
  • LocationNew York, NY

Posted 20 September 2012 - 08:07 PM

Hi Bendage,

Has the restriction been removed yet?

Not quite yet. We have just updated the Shield Base to use the new GoBus 1.5 UART transport. Next transport will be SPI, removing the requirement for 4 GoPorts (i.e. exclusive use of half the board).

Chris

#18 neslekkim

neslekkim

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 308 posts
  • LocationOslo, Norway

Posted 21 September 2012 - 09:27 PM

Not quite yet. We have just updated the Shield Base to use the new GoBus 1.5 UART transport. Next transport will be SPI, removing the requirement for 4 GoPorts (i.e. exclusive use of half the board).


UART?, that is not released yet is it?, or did I miss something?, The only release I have seen so far is 4.2.0.1, with the pwm fix? (just have to check if I havent found where to look.. )

--
Asbjørn


#19 Chris Walker

Chris Walker

    Secret Labs Staff

  • Moderators
  • 7103 posts
  • LocationNew York, NY

Posted 21 September 2012 - 09:57 PM

Hi neslekkim,

UART?, that is not released yet is it?, or did I miss something?, The only release I have seen so far is 4.2.0.1, with the pwm fix? (just have to check if I havent found where to look.. )

We're testing it now. We should have an update for the Shield Base firmware soon.

Chris

#20 Gutworks

Gutworks

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 363 posts
  • LocationOttawa, Ontario

Posted 21 September 2012 - 10:19 PM


We're testing it now. We should have an update for the Shield Base firmware soon.

Chris

:D :D :D




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

home    hardware    projects    downloads    community    where to buy    contact Copyright © 2010-2014 Secret Labs LLC  |  Legal   |   CC BY-SA
This webpage is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike License.