Netduino home hardware projects downloads community

The Netduino forums have been replaced by new forums at community.wildernesslabs.co. This site has been preserved for archival purposes only and the ability to make new accounts or posts has been turned off.
Photo

RGB led - cathode vs anode

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 jlprest

jlprest

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts

Posted 30 March 2012 - 05:00 AM

Greetings. I am a noob to actually doing something with what I learned in physics years ago. I have a Netduino Plus and ordered a "starter pack" from Makershed and have been working through Getting Started with Netduino. My problem is in the section on the RGB led. It appears I was sent common anode LEDs instead of common cathode discussed in the book. When constructing the circuit as directed I got nothing but by modifying and connecting the 3 "color" leads to ground and the common lead to the 3.3V output from the Netduino I get the appropriate lights. My problem is in how to adjust the program to account for this. I understand altering the duty cycle on a voltage output but how to you adjust the duty cycle for a ground?

I am having a blast and probably have a better understanding of circuits (or at least am developing it) than I ever did.

I am posting the program as written for a common cathode LED below:

PWM redLed = new PWM(Pins.GPIO_PIN_D9);
PWM greenLed = new PWM(Pins.GPIO_PIN_D6);
PWM blueLed = new PWM(Pins.GPIO_PIN_D5);

//for purple

redLed.SetDutyCycle(60);
greenLed.SetDutyCycle(0);
blueLed.SetDutyCycle(100);

Thread.Sleep(Timeout.Infinite);

Thanks for any assistance.

#2 Mario Vernari

Mario Vernari

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1768 posts
  • LocationVenezia, Italia

Posted 30 March 2012 - 07:07 AM