Netduino home hardware projects downloads community

The Netduino forums have been replaced by new forums at community.wildernesslabs.co. This site has been preserved for archival purposes only and the ability to make new accounts or posts has been turned off.
Photo

An old geeks outlook on the Netduino and the Arduino - beginners

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Frank

Frank

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 62 posts
  • LocationNorth Waterboro Maine

Posted 12 September 2010 - 07:27 PM

I've been reading the Netduino and the Arduino forums, and many websites, with a smile on my face. And I've already sold my soul to a couple of the business websites. It makes my wife shiver a bit, bit buying a goody has become almost too easy !

I guess I need to do a little bit of history, so you will know where I am coming from. I'm a retired geek, or as my friends say, retired and a geek. In olden days I was a amateur radio fan, a tinkerer, a packrat, and had a mutitude of fun jobs. In the beginning, I started with a Commodore PET, 6502 assembly, and some enjoyable years not putting my Liberal Arts background to use. I worked for a local manaufacturer, Maintenance, ET, tech, equipment design,etc. Generally if there were two wires attached, and someone had troubles, I got called. Was I any good? Nah, just stubbord and pigheaded. But it was always new everyday. I loved it. My packratting increased. My garage hasn't had many days when it could hold a vehicle !

Back in the late 1970's I 'discovered 'C'. Life was getting better. Then I switched jobs, went to work for Corning in Maine, same type of work, but with a large network and all of 7 computers. Lots of programming, equipment building,amateur radio started to lose my interest. Lots of C code, DbaseII, and a manufacturing floor that was always looking for more and more automation. It was hard not to smile, most days.