Netduino home hardware projects downloads community

The Netduino forums have been replaced by new forums at community.wildernesslabs.co. This site has been preserved for archival purposes only and the ability to make new accounts or posts has been turned off.
Photo

Netduino and ADH8066 GSM module

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 boyse

boyse

• Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 03 December 2011 - 03:06 PM

Hi all,

I've got the ADH8066 GSM module and the breakout board to go with it.

I'm trying to get it connected to my netduino so I can have a play - I'm new to electronics so any advice will be appreciated.

I'm powering the netduino using the USB, and I have 12v coming into the breadboard.

I'm using a LM350 voltage regulator circuit with R1 as 270ohms and R2 as 510ohms (as these are the closest resistors I have) to give an output of about 3.6v. This is used to power the ADH8066 module, which according to the datasheet needs between 3.4v and 4.5v.

Heres the bit I'm a bit stuck with - the datasheet says the recommended digital high voltage is between 2v and 3.14v, but further up in the extreme condition specification is says the max input/output voltage on any pin is 3.5v. I believe the netduino digital high voltage is 3.3v, so if I just connect the netduino digital out directly to the GSM module, will it harm it?
Should I use a resistor?
How do I calculate that resistor value as I don't think the datasheet gives enough information for that?
Could I build another voltage regulator circuit to output about 2.5v, and use a transistor connected to the digital out and the 2.5v rail to send the data? If so whats the best way to do this (which transistor?)?

Sorry for all the questions - I'm just trying to get as much info as I can so as not to blow up the GSM module or my netduino.

Thanks

Tom

#2 Mario Vernari

Mario Vernari

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1768 posts
  • LocationVenezia, Italia