Netduino home hardware projects downloads community

The Netduino forums have been replaced by new forums at community.wildernesslabs.co. This site has been preserved for archival purposes only and the ability to make new accounts or posts has been turned off.
Photo

Timer only executes five times?

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 CarTech

CarTech

• Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 25 October 2011 - 02:14 AM

Please be kind as I'm a mechanical engineer during the day learning both C# and the netduino as a hobby. :D

I'm using an ADXL345 accelerometer connected to the netduino via I2C. I've attached the class for the accelerometer which I got almost directly from LoveElectronics ADXL345 Library & Tutorial. This code works very nicely.

Unfortunately the sensor stick from SparkFun, which I have, doesn't have the interrupts on the ADXL345 broken out. Thus, I've resorted to polling the ADXL345 with a timer.

The problem I'm having is that the timer only executes five times. If I change the time interval (tried 8ms and 800ms), it still only runs five times. Here's the problematic code:

using System;
using System.IO;
using System.Net;
using System.Net.Sockets;
using System.Threading;
using Microsoft.SPOT;
using Microsoft.SPOT.Hardware;
using SecretLabs.NETMF.Hardware;
using SecretLabs.NETMF.Hardware.NetduinoPlus;

namespace Testing9DOF
{
    public class BufferFileManager
    {
        // Constructor
        public BufferFileManager()
        {
            Debug.Print("Created a new BufferFileMananger instance");
        }

// Public methods
        public void StartDAQ()
        {
            // Start up sensor class
            ADXL345 myAccel = new ADXL345();
            myAccel.CheckConnection();
            myAccel.FullResolution = true;
            myAccel.EnableMeasurements();
            myAccel.SetDataRate(0x08);

// Start collecting data to file
            Timer timer = new Timer(delegate(object o)
                {