Netduino home hardware projects downloads community

The Netduino forums have been replaced by new forums at community.wildernesslabs.co. This site has been preserved for archival purposes only and the ability to make new accounts or posts has been turned off.
Photo

Hooking up Netduino to screen and serial

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Dave12

Dave12

• Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 14 October 2011 - 08:48 PM

Hello, I'm a newbie to the .NET Microframework world. I bought a Netduino back in September, 2010. I didn't go much more than flashing the leds but now I have a project in mind. Is it possible to hook it up to a small screen and also to a serial port? I want to get data from a device via serial and display it on a GUI. I had in mind these two devices FEZ Touch (http://www.ghielectr...log/product/262) FEZ RS232 Shield (http://www.ghielectr...log/product/182) I understand that these two parts are both compatible with Arduino and that the Neduino is compatible with Arduino. Unfortunately, I don't have enough basic knowledge to know what this means. How are Netduino and FEZ (from GHI Electronics) related to Arduino? Does compatible mean I just plug in and it works? Or is there sodering to be done? My background is in .NET/WPF on Windows. Given this, I was hoping to use WPF on the Netduino and display. Is this possible? Thanks for the help, Dave

#2 Chris Walker

Chris Walker

Secret Labs Staff

• Moderators
  • 7767 posts
  • LocationNew York, NY

Posted 15 October 2011 - 01:25 AM