Netduino home hardware projects downloads community

The Netduino forums have been replaced by new forums at community.wildernesslabs.co. This site has been preserved for archival purposes only and the ability to make new accounts or posts has been turned off.
Photo

Newbie ds18b20 questions

• Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 mcinnes01

mcinnes01

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 325 posts
  • LocationManchester UK

Posted 21 June 2011 - 08:46 PM

Hi, So I have got my netduino had a play around and I have managed the LED blink and some other LED blink where it counts the number of times you press the button and flashes the LED that number of times. So now I have decided to get started with working out the various parts of my aquarium control project. I am new to both electronics and visual studio and my background as far as code is in access and excel vba. I tried one electronics project last year which was a dmx transceiver, but I think this was a little over my head especially when it can to flashing the avr. So I have decided the netduino may be a good starting point. First thing with my aquarium project I have decided is the temperature probe. I have wired up my ds18b20 with a 4k7 resistor, but I have no idea where to even begin with getting reading from this. I have search around the forum a fair bit and found these threads to mention but a few: http://forums.netdui...ch__1#entry1505 http://forums.netdui...ch__1#entry5962 I have tried to follow the latter of the two as I couldn't find the firmware referenced in the first, however I got no joy. My issue was regarding the SerialPort _COM1 reference in the class. The error said that "SerialPort" was not reference in the NETMF.hardware? Can anyone guide me how I can implement one wire with a ds18b20, and is there any class library's I need to install/ firmware I need to upgrade? Is 4.1.2 out yet with the one wire support? Also I followed the getting started guide, how do I no I have