Netduino home hardware projects downloads community

The Netduino forums have been replaced by new forums at community.wildernesslabs.co. This site has been preserved for archival purposes only and the ability to make new accounts or posts has been turned off.
Photo

Bring 30 amp signal down to 16ma for input

• Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 chocamo

chocamo

• Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 23 May 2011 - 04:37 AM

I am new to the world of electronics and I want to tap into a signal to tell when something is on or off. When the external switch is on the current is 30amp and I want to sample it using netduino. I am thinking that using a relay and a resistor will be the best bet but I'm not really sure what to look for in one to be sure I don't break the netduino. Any tips would be great

#2 Mario Vernari

Mario Vernari

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1768 posts
  • LocationVenezia, Italia

Posted 23 May 2011 - 05:31 AM

Maybe it's me, but I have no clear what's your goal... Could you post any schematic about the switch (and what you're expecting on)? Cheers
Biggest fault of Netduino? It runs by electricity.

#3 Chris Seto

Chris Seto

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 405 posts

Posted 23 May 2011 - 02:28 PM

relays are for switching things on from the mcu, they cannot provide input like you seem to want to use them...

#4 chocamo

chocamo

• Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 23 May 2011 - 02:49 PM

Sorry I know I could have phrased that all a lot better. Here is a paint picture of what I want to do, basically tell when that switch has been flipped

[]Diagram

#5 Mario Vernari

Mario Vernari

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1768 posts

Posted 23 May 2011 - 03:17 PM

OK, is that current alternating or direct (AC/DC)? How much is the voltage on that line (approx)? Cheers

#6 chocamo

chocamo

• Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 23 May 2011 - 03:48 PM

DC and I believe its 12V

#7 Mario Vernari