Netduino home hardware projects downloads community

The Netduino forums have been replaced by new forums at community.wildernesslabs.co. This site has been preserved for archival purposes only and the ability to make new accounts or posts has been turned off.
Photo

How to pause a program execution without a timer?

Pause a program execution

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 shimoda

shimoda

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts
  • LocationQuebec, Canada

Posted 26 August 2015 - 09:15 PM

How can I pause a program execution temporary to handle an unforeseen event? 

I have a system monitoring many temperature sensors in order to heat or chill a chamber. I want the user to be able to pause the program in order to handle something unexpected by pressing an emergency switch. After the problem is resolved the user will reset the emergency switch giving the signal to the program to resume its monitoring, heating and cooling activities. 

I am quite new to Netduino and C# environment. I have a netduino 1 on MF4.2. 

Thanks for your suggestion! 

#2 shimoda

shimoda

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts
  • LocationQuebec, Canada

Posted 27 August 2015 - 01:51 AM

public static void Run() {
            while (true)
            {
                if (errorSignal.Read() == false) 
                //Read the signal on the GPIO port. This signal is maintain until the switch is reset.
                {
                    //The emergency stop switch is active. Pause the program execution.
                    emergencyStopEvent(new object(), EventArgs.Empty); //Stop all heating components, timers...
                    while (true)
                    {
                        if (errorSignal.Read() == true) 
                        //Read the signal on the GPIO port. The switch has been reset.
                        {
                            //There is a request to resume the program execution.
                            break;
                        }