Netduino home hardware projects downloads community

The Netduino forums have been replaced by new forums at community.wildernesslabs.co. This site has been preserved for archival purposes only and the ability to make new accounts or posts has been turned off.
Photo

Power and USB Question

• Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 MrSmoofy

MrSmoofy

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 47 posts
  • LocationOdessa, FL

Posted 16 August 2010 - 07:28 PM

Since I'm new to hardware like this I've been wondering a few things. We will start with the USB connection, I know it powers the board and allows the transfer of data to it for programming purposes but can it be used with say a keyboard, mouse, both, anything use USB? Also is it oneway can only be used as an input or could you connect a usb hub to it? Next is power. What are the different ways to power the board. I know via the USB is one, but I think I saw a power plug as well (does it come with the wall whort?) What about batteries, what kind of battery power are we talking about, or even a switch as well to turn it on and off or a way for it to self power off. Thanks for the help.

#2 Omar (OZ)

Omar (OZ)

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 564 posts

Posted 16 August 2010 - 07:56 PM

Since I'm new to hardware like this I've been wondering a few things.

We will start with the USB connection, I know it powers the board and allows the transfer of data to it for programming purposes but can it be used with say a keyboard, mouse, both, anything use USB? Also is it oneway can only be used as an input or could you connect a usb hub to it?

Next is power. What are the different ways to power the board. I know via the USB is one, but I think I saw a power plug as well (does it come with the wall whort?) What about batteries, what kind of battery power are we talking about, or even a switch as well to turn it on and off or a way for it to self power off.

Thanks for the help.