Netduino home hardware projects downloads community

The Netduino forums have been replaced by new forums at community.wildernesslabs.co. This site has been preserved for archival purposes only and the ability to make new accounts or posts has been turned off.
Photo

Setting DHCP client ID on Netduino Plus 2

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 kamaljain

kamaljain

• Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 03 August 2014 - 02:35 PM

Hi Folks,

My name is Kamal, and I am new to Netduino.  So far I'm having fun learning.  I got a Netduino Plus 2 for a skunkworks project at my day job and I'm trying to figure something out which I'll explain below.  The project will involve porting or adapting a full .Net 4.5 application that runs on an expensive rack-mounted x86 server, so the Netduino Plus 2, bringing total cost down by more than an order of magnitude, and improving reliability and performance.

So, the question/problem: I am using these lines to enable DHCP and Dynamic DNS server assignment, and to verify the IP address:

var interf = Microsoft.SPOT.Net.NetworkInformation.NetworkInterface.GetAllNetworkInterfaces()[0];

interf.EnableDynamicDns();
interf.EnableDhcp();

Debug.Print("Netduino is on " + interf.IPAddress + " /// DHCP: " + interf.IsDhcpEnabled);
Yes, I lifted it from some forum post I found - perhaps even from this forum!  It works great - the Netduino can succesfully use the SocketClient example to fetch a web page.  But when I look at my DHCP server, the client name is "unknown" which I believe is because there is no DHCID (DHCP Client ID) being passed.  I haven't Wiresharked it yet, but that's what my instinct tells me.

I've spent hours Googling and reading and haven't found a way to set this.  MFDeploy doesn't give me a way that I can see.

Does anyone have experience with this and perhaps...a solution or pointer for me?

Thanks in advance,
Kamal

#2 jrlyman3

jrlyman3

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 67 posts