Netduino home hardware projects downloads community

The Netduino forums have been replaced by new forums at community.wildernesslabs.co. This site has been preserved for archival purposes only and the ability to make new accounts or posts has been turned off.
Photo

Monitor data from Netduino in Visual Studio

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 vader7071

vader7071

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 132 posts
  • LocationDothan, AL

Posted 17 December 2013 - 08:24 PM

My background is Allen-Bradley PLC programming.  Old ladder logic.  One nice aspect of the programming software I use is I can watch the program run and see the values in various memory locations as they change.

Is there a way to do this on a Netduino and Visual Studio Pro 2012?  I have a program that generates random numbers and is there a way I can view those memory locations live as the program runs to see the effect?  The end game is I will be putting in an external signal into the Netduino (PWM signal in from an RC controller) and I want to see the values showing up so I can adjust what I need to.

#2 Kip

Kip

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 22 posts
  • LocationItaly

Posted 17 December 2013 - 10:56 PM

You can set a breakpoint (click on the left side of a line of code, or press F9) to stop execution of the program at the point it is set.

Or you can use the Debugger.Break() function.

When execution is stopped you can check and alter the value of each of your variables.

If you just want to output values, you can use Debug.Print(), which will output a string on VS output console.

Of course none of these work during normal execution, you must be actively debugging your code (by pressing F5 while in VS)