Netduino home hardware projects downloads community

The Netduino forums have been replaced by new forums at community.wildernesslabs.co. This site has been preserved for archival purposes only and the ability to make new accounts or posts has been turned off.
Photo

Fireworks Controler

• Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 satkye

satkye

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 13 posts

Posted 09 May 2012 - 04:34 PM

Hello. I am new to working with microcontolers. What I am trying to do is make a igination system for fireworks. The fuse (link below) needs 6v - 9v to ignite. I just am not sure how you would wire this to step up to a higher voltage. If someone could point me in the right direction it would be great. Thanks! http://www.firingsys...s-p/ignp3m-.htm

#2 Paul Newton

Paul Newton

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 724 posts
  • LocationBerkshire, UK

Posted 09 May 2012 - 05:42 PM

Hi Satkye,

The simple answer is that you use a transistor.
The transistor acts as a switch controlled by an electrical signal from the Netduino.

There are a few issues to consider.
Volts and Amps
I watched the video and read the words on the web site.
They say the best voltage to use is 6V, this is because 9V can cause the igniter coil to burn too fast.
I didn't see anything to say what the current is when the igniter is turned on.
(It does say "Maximum no-fire current: 5mA" but I think that is how much current can flow and the igniter will not ignite. I am guessing this is so that the driver circuit can do a check to see if the igniters are present and wired up without heating them up.)
To chose the correct transistor you need to know how much current the igniter will take (or its resistance so we can calculate the current). Try emailing the company (or maybe I missed something).

Timing
I'm not sure if the igniters are designed to be re-used, or if they are expected to burn out and be thrown away.