Netduino home hardware projects downloads community

The Netduino forums have been replaced by new forums at community.wildernesslabs.co. This site has been preserved for archival purposes only and the ability to make new accounts or posts has been turned off.
Photo

Debate Timer

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Chris Walker

Chris Walker

Secret Labs Staff

• Moderators
  • 7767 posts
  • LocationNew York, NY

Posted 15 August 2010 - 10:22 AM

I just saw this project linked from Twitter and thought it was pretty cool. And it appears to be from our very own community member Snipehunter. It's an early concept for a "debate timer." Very cool.

Blog Post: I've gone a little strange, these days...

My favorite part:
"It's really not much, but consider that it was made out of a Netduino, breadboard, some LEDs, a few resistors, a pushbutton, some wires and some C# code. In other words, I made that! In a couple of hours of tinkering. I'm a game designer, not an engineer, but this whole open source prototyping movement, and the Netduino specifically have made it easy for someone like me to experiment with this stuff.

"Suddenly, when I see something that behaves as if it's stupid; like my sprinkler controller, I start to think, 'Hmm, what if I made it smarter?' and I start to consider things like wiring my lawn into the weather bureau's reports via the Netduino and some sensors, so that it only ever gets water when it actually needs it. I can do that now! That's not even a fantasy; it's a bullet point on my to-do list now, thanks to the Netduino."

Keep up the great work, Snipehunter... And please, feel free to post here in the community forums. If you'd like to create a new post for your project, I can delete this one...

Chris

#2 Snipehunter

Snipehunter

• Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 15 August 2010 - 04:23 PM