Netduino home hardware projects downloads community

The Netduino forums have been replaced by new forums at community.wildernesslabs.co. This site has been preserved for archival purposes only and the ability to make new accounts or posts has been turned off.
Photo

New here - feasable project?

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Wayneio

Wayneio

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 24 posts

Posted 24 March 2013 - 11:24 AM

Hi there,

I am thinking of purchasing a netduino plus 2, with the aim of refreshing my old A-level electronics knowledge. I am an average C# coder, so that side of things is fine, but my electronics knowledge is rather rusty, and so before I buy, I would like to know if there are tutorials that can help me with my first project idea.

I have a blind on my window instead of curtains, but in front of it, I have desk and TV etc, so it's rather difficult to get to. My idea is to have a netduino on the window-sill connected to a motor, which would connect to the blind string. Could I then, using a simple c# application, control the motor to open and close the blind? I would like to make this a web app, so I could control it via my android phone, and as an extension to the project, possibly have it automatically open the blind at say 7am and close it at 9pm.

Any advice as to the feasability, and then tutorials for controling a small motor would be appricated.

Thanks

#2 JerseyTechGuy

JerseyTechGuy

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 870 posts

Posted 24 March 2013 - 01:32 PM

Sure this is entirely feasible I'll see if I can dig out some links later and post them up here when I'm back in my office. Basically you'll need a motor controller and web server running on the Netduino. I have a similar setup for my automation setup but using a different controller.

#3 Paul Newton

Paul Newton

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 724 posts
  • LocationBerkshire, UK

Posted 24 March 2013 - 05:06 PM

Hi Wayneio,