Netduino Plus - First impressions from a beginner - Netduino Plus 2 (and Netduino Plus 1) - Netduino Forums

Netduino home hardware projects downloads community

The Netduino forums have been replaced by new forums at community.wildernesslabs.co. This site has been preserved for archival purposes only and the ability to make new accounts or posts has been turned off.
Photo

Netduino Plus - First impressions from a beginner

• Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 WannaFly

WannaFly

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts

Posted 16 December 2010 - 01:56 AM

I received my netduino plus today and couldn't wait to break it open and mess around with it. I've never done anything with this stuff before, but I have full desktop .Net development experience - which lead me down this path to the micro framework. My first thought opening the box: WOW this this is TINY. There is a ton of things packed onto the board. I've seen tons of pictures and it makes sense that it would be small but it's impressive. The quality is top notch, everything looks very well done and of high quality. I did receive a micro USB cable, thankfully - because I do not have one otherwise. I still don't understand what the multi color barcode paper is for. I had previously installs VS and the SDK, so I plugged it in, walked through the blinking light demo. I called my girlfriend in explaining in excitement what I had just done and she gave me the blank "really?" stare -haha. Here I am 2 hours later I've done button press, event handler, gotten the time from the internet and blinked the LED to output it, and downloaded one of the webserver examples (But I don't have an SD card..yet). I'm addicted. This is a really great item. So, if anyone has any suggestions for things I can do with just the board I'm up for it. I've ordered a few sensors but they wont be here for a week or so. My first project I think might be to get this http://shop.modernde...cts/wind-sensor so that I can monitor when my hea