Netduino home hardware projects downloads community

The Netduino forums have been replaced by new forums at community.wildernesslabs.co. This site has been preserved for archival purposes only and the ability to make new accounts or posts has been turned off.
Photo

Newbie trying to deciede where to start and what to buy.

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 FaytesEnd

FaytesEnd

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 13 February 2013 - 04:29 PM

Hi guys, I"m new to the netduino scene and I'm not sure what hardware to start with. I'm not even sure what project I want to make, but I would like to play around with it first.

I was considering getting the go starter kit on amazon along with the book Getting Started with the Internet of Things.

I"m open to any feedback or recomendations. I'm currently a web developer and use c# daily. So I'm at least sure I would like a platform with a languange I write in often.

Thanks.

#2 roguemat

roguemat

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 54 posts
  • LocationSouth Africa

Posted 13 February 2013 - 10:01 PM

Why not get the normal Netduino? I can recommend the book : Getting started with Netduino. By the way, I'm the same as you and came from a C# background. Still struggling with the hardware stuff, but at least the code all makes sense. Its loads of fun!
I make Windows Phone stuff for beer money and rent (in order of priority). I've got a blog and am on the Twitter machine.

#3 FaytesEnd

FaytesEnd

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 13 February 2013 - 10:44 PM

Any thoughts on the go? The modules look neat and the price isn't terrble. I have some experience with hardware from a while back, so I'm looking foward to using my new found knowledge of programming wih it.

#4 NooM

NooM

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 490 posts
  • LocationAustria

Posted 14 February 2013 - 05:02 AM

my opinoin for the go: its a nice device, but lacking some modules, wonder when they will be aviable.