Netduino home hardware projects downloads community

The Netduino forums have been replaced by new forums at community.wildernesslabs.co. This site has been preserved for archival purposes only and the ability to make new accounts or posts has been turned off.
Photo

Part Suggestions?

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Tim

Tim

• Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 29 November 2010 - 08:52 AM

Hi community! I'm completely new to micro-controllers, and relatively new to programming. I've been lurking around the forums for a while now and have finally decided to dive in and see what I can accomplish. For my first project, I'm hoping to play around with some 'air circuits' for use in an electro-mechanical musical instrument, but I'm really not sure where to start as far as parts are concerned. Obviously, I need a netduino, but what else? The parts I'm emulating are just simple buttons and levers that lift a pad (from which air will escape). My initial thought was to use a servo to simply lift the pad, but then it occurred to me that I could replace the whole system with a solenoid. In a perfect world, whatever mechanism/setup would be (in order of priority) very fast, very small, and low power. Speed is the most important, since it needs to feel as immediate as pushing a lever would. Size comes from my desire to keep the entire instrument portable. For my idea to ultimately work, I'd need anywhere from 40 (best case) to 120 (worst case) 'lever-replacement systems'. Power comes mostly from the size and portability standpoint. It would be unfortunate to have to plug the thing in to use it. Ideally, it could be battery powered. I suspect that one of these priorities will have to give (i.e., speed means more power-hungry, etc.), but that's my pie-in-the-sky. Any suggestions on specific parts? (links would be very, very helpful). I've tried to do some poking around, but I'm a bit lost in everything. Looking at some of the solenoids, for example, all I co