Netduino home hardware projects downloads community

The Netduino forums have been replaced by new forums at community.wildernesslabs.co. This site has been preserved for archival purposes only and the ability to make new accounts or posts has been turned off.
Photo

Uart, unable to read the received Characters

• Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 smilios

smilios

• Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 12 December 2012 - 06:46 AM

Hi I am new to netduino platform. I experiment the environment for a couple of days. In my final project I want to use the device to transfer data between the serial ports to external devices. I managed to program the device using the following instructions: Power * Attach 7.5V-12V power to pin 24 (top-right corner just right of notch at top). And from your power supply, attach ground to pin 23. Programming RS232: cut the end off of an RS232 cable and wire the RX, TX, DTR, and GND wires to pins 1, 2, 3, and 4. In Visual Studio, set the deployment to Serial instead of USB and select your COM port. All that work fine. I even managed to flash the device to firmware NetduinoMini_Firmware_4.2.0.1_RS232, so uart ports behaves well. The steps I follow: 1. Deploy the application from VSstudio2010. (all fine) 2. Test that it works (debugging), all fine. 3. Power off the netduino mini, Close the VS studio. 4. Power up the netduino mini. 5. Wait the mini to boot and open a terminal application (TeraTerm or Real Term) 6. Send Keystrokes from Terminal application. The peculiar behavior starts here…. a. The netduino application enters the event handler SerialDataReceivedEventHandler b. The led flashes. c. I can send hardcoded data back to the PC terminal application, from netduino but… The problem is that there are no data to netduino receive buffer, the .BytesToRead always return zero In the attached excample allways Bytes Readed=0 Could someone help me. Thank you in advance. The Code... using System; using System.Threading; using Mic