Netduino home hardware projects downloads community

The Netduino forums have been replaced by new forums at community.wildernesslabs.co. This site has been preserved for archival purposes only and the ability to make new accounts or posts has been turned off.
Photo

Christmas Lights

• Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#1 c#Geek

c#Geek

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 03 November 2012 - 07:54 PM

Hi All,

I'm brand new to the netduino plus world and I have a question. Can I use the netduino plus board to drive this relay board: Relay board

It states that it needs "15-20mA Driver Current" and I'm not sure if the netduino plus board will drive that. I see that it does output 3.3 volts, but I do not see the amps listed anywhere.

You can see some of the light shows I have done in the past with up to 8 channels listed below. I want to use neduino to give me more channels to play with. Now I just need more lights :rolleyes:

Charlie Brown
Two House are better than one
2011 Show My favorite is dueling Jingle bells at 2:34

Thanks in advance for any advice.

Don

#2 JerseyTechGuy

JerseyTechGuy

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 870 posts

Posted 03 November 2012 - 09:53 PM

I believe the Digital Pins are 16ma so you should be fine.

#3 Paul Newton

Paul Newton

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 724 posts
  • LocationBerkshire, UK

Posted 03 November 2012 - 10:11 PM

Hi Don,

Welcome to the Forums!

Unfortunately, only three of the digital IOs can drive the maximum 16mA of output current.
The others are just 8mA.
See this Wiki page.

I would recommend using some 74HC595 chips to drive the relay card inputs. These are easily connected to the Netduino via SPI.

Hope this helps - Paul

#4 c#Geek

c#Geek

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 03 November 2012 - 11:26 PM