Netduino home hardware projects downloads community

The Netduino forums have been replaced by new forums at community.wildernesslabs.co. This site has been preserved for archival purposes only and the ability to make new accounts or posts has been turned off.
Photo

Idea for another module - Easy WiFi?

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 H07R0D

H07R0D

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 95 posts

Posted 01 November 2012 - 02:42 PM

So Sparkfun is carrying this new micro platform they're calling the Electric Imp.
https://www.sparkfun.../products/11395

Basically it's a wifi enabled Coretx M3 processor. In the form factor of a standard SD Card.

I haven't got any yet, but I was wondering how feasible it would be to adapt a Go Module shield to accept one of these devices to allow really easy wifi connectivity.

I'm not very good at hardware stuff (yet) so I have no idea if this is even possible, but I wanted to ask around, see what everyone thought.

Cheers.

#2 6677

• Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 01 November 2012 - 04:36 PM

I believe it can only connect to the electric imp cloud services not the rest of the internet as a whole

#3 Arron Chapman

Arron Chapman

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 289 posts
  • LocationOregon, USA

Posted 01 November 2012 - 09:57 PM

I believe it can only connect to the electric imp cloud services not the rest of the internet as a whole

It can connect to anything as I understand it, but it's proxied through the electric imp API.

When you talk EE use small words, I'm just a Software Developer :)
My Blog/Site and Everything Else

If my post helped you please consider pressing the "Like This" button in the bottom right-hand corner.

Oh my. So many things, so little money!!

#4 H07R0D

H07R0D

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 95 posts

Posted 01 November 2012 - 10:19 PM

Thats too bad it's so restricive, I wonder why they thought that was the way to go

#5 Chris Walker