Netduino home hardware projects downloads community

The Netduino forums have been replaced by new forums at community.wildernesslabs.co. This site has been preserved for archival purposes only and the ability to make new accounts or posts has been turned off.
Photo

Electronic Speed Control question

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Bendage

Bendage

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 153 posts
  • LocationIrvine, CA

Posted 18 September 2012 - 02:48 AM

Hi, My background is code and not electronics but this is probably a simple question for most of you... I am controlling a DC motor via PWM and a force sensor via Analog input. I map the 0 - 1023 values of the force sensor to a duty cycle of 0 - 100 for the PWM pin. It works fine. Using a multimeter I can see 0 - 3.3v coming out of the PWM as I squeeze the sensor but the motor doesn't move. If I hook the motor directly to a variable power supply it runs just fine on 3.3v. Is there not enough current drawing from the PWM pin or what? If I juice the motor from a different power source how can I make the voltage vary? I'm assuming I need to use an ESC. So if I power the motor via 9v and only want 3.3v do I just set the PWM duty cycle to around 33 for max voltage? If an ESC is what I need are there any recommendations?

#2 Mario Vernari

Mario Vernari

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1768 posts
  • LocationVenezia, Italia

Posted 18 September 2012 - 03:44 AM