Netduino home hardware projects downloads community

The Netduino forums have been replaced by new forums at community.wildernesslabs.co. This site has been preserved for archival purposes only and the ability to make new accounts or posts has been turned off.
Photo

Netduino vs. Netduino Go with GPS and 3G

• Please log in to reply
No replies to this topic

#1 nhale

nhale

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 64 posts
  • LocationHeidelberg, Germany

Posted 17 May 2012 - 01:25 PM

Hi,

I'm new to the topic and first have some general questions to see if it's possible at all - and don't get told lateron in the forum ;-)

The idea:
There is a device called "DriftBox" which records position, speed, g-forces, lap times and much more. I had the chance to test one of these boxes and it gives you very detailed and accurate track information (position, speed). Price: about 600-700€ in Germany (USD 800)!!!!!
DriftBox Website

In my opinion too expensive.

As I'm developing in .NET/C# (since 2006) I wrote a small app which records the position with my Windows Phone 7.
The problem is, that the GPS sensor does not have a high resolution (I think its about once a second) additionally it has problems with fast direction changes (turns/curves - hope this is the right word ;)). Just take a look at the attached picture from recording, then you know what I mean. I tested the WP7 app with a HTC and Samsung device and both are "bad".
Attached File  HHRGPSTest.JPG   46.19KB   11 downloads

To be able to provide the my current location to my friends (on Nürburgring-GreenHell you wait about 10 minutes until the 25km/15miles lap has finished) I wanted to use the ability of the WP7 and upload my position every second and they see on the iPad or similar my current position - even if they don't see me on the track in reality.

Why Netduino: