Netduino home hardware projects downloads community

The Netduino forums have been replaced by new forums at community.wildernesslabs.co. This site has been preserved for archival purposes only and the ability to make new accounts or posts has been turned off.
Photo

Possible? Ethernet and wifi

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 rjccomps

rjccomps

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 23 April 2012 - 02:50 AM

I'm new to the netduino, but its awesome! I'm looking into starting a project and before I go buying things I thought I'd do the smart thing and see what the community has to offer. I would like to connect my netduino by the ethernet port to an existing wired network. That would give it a dhcp address or the ability to configure static if need be. Then from there the netduino would have a wifi shield on it, serving up its own wireless network, can be adhoc or infrastructure doesn't matter. The device connecting to it could then send requests from the wifi to the ethernet network. Possible to talk across the wifi to the ethernet? Pretty much acting as a access point for the wired network except it would have its own dhcp server to hand out IP's to the wifi client. Thanks'

#2 Stefan

Stefan

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1965 posts
  • LocationBreda, the Netherlands

Posted 23 April 2012 - 11:59 AM

Hi rjccomps and welcome to the forums. It could be possible to make a small http proxy I suppose, but I don't think the Netduino could replace a wireless access point completely. If you'd want that, you're better (and cheaper) off buying a normal wireless access point.
"Fact that I'm a moderator doesn't make me an expert in things." Stefan, the eternal newb!
My .NETMF projects: .NETMF Toolbox / Gadgeteer Light / Some PCB designs

#3 baxter

baxter

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 415 posts

Posted 23 April 2012 - 05:58 PM