Netduino home hardware projects downloads community

The Netduino forums have been replaced by new forums at community.wildernesslabs.co. This site has been preserved for archival purposes only and the ability to make new accounts or posts has been turned off.
Photo

First Project Idea - Rotating Plant Stand

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 jlprest

jlprest

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts

Posted 09 April 2012 - 04:55 AM

I am a noob I and I am working on my first idea using the Netduino and would appreciate any advice, suggestions, etc. I have a 3 level (vertically) plant stand used to grow herbs that has 3 separate plants on each level roughly in a triangular configuration - weight is about 10# and it is about 18" tall (picture attached). The problem is that one side faces away from the window so it has to be roatated every few days to ensure light to all the plants. My plan is to install a rotating base which I can turn with a motor. I have purchased a cheap timer motor (2/3 RPM, 120V) as a first try and will need to devise a method to connect to the base (friction, gears, belt, etc). I would like to have a light sensor that will control when the motor turns on and off to prevent rotating when dark, etc. I also thought I might install a motion sensor as a safety feature to shut off the motor should something interfere with the rotation (e.g. cat). Eventually I might be able to include moisture sensors and/or water dispensers as I know someone has already created something similar. I assume I will need a relay to control the motor and the light and motion sensors. Is this too ambitious for a beginning project? Any ideas regarding configuration, equipment, programming would be appreciated. Jackie

Attached Files

#2 gbreder

gbreder

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 53 posts
  • LocationGermany

Posted 09 April 2012 - 12:40 PM

Hi Jackie,
the answer is: it depends...