Netduino home hardware projects downloads community

The Netduino forums have been replaced by new forums at community.wildernesslabs.co. This site has been preserved for archival purposes only and the ability to make new accounts or posts has been turned off.
Photo

120v to 3.3v

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 jdev

jdev

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 18 March 2012 - 01:36 AM

First off, Hello everyone... I'm a .net developer with a decent back ground in that, and looking to get into this micro framework and start doing some cool home automation things. So with that being said, remember i'm a total NEWB when it comes to electronics my only exposure there is when I was a kid I received a 300-n-1 project kit (thanks dad!), and made every single project when i was 10 :| and since then haven't done much except for today finding it in a box and taking it apart for parts. (20yrs later KNEW IT WOULD COME IN HANDY) So first question I have is, I've read through the book Getting Started with netduino and it was fun, but what was most interesting (for what I need) was the networking part, soooo... I am going to buy a motion sensor and a relay switch... what i'm confused about is where to start? I want to turn lights On and Off when my child enters/leaves a room (i know they sale these types of things but whats the fun in that?) how can i power my device from standard home wiring(US)? the only cable i "want to run" is network cable to my server, to do the controlling/logging Any help or pointers would GREATLY appreciated :) looking forward to your answers, Josh

#2 hanzibal

hanzibal

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1287 posts
  • LocationSweden

Posted 18 March 2012 - 03:08 PM

Welcome to the forum!

Simplest would be to get a standard 110V to 5V regulated wall adapter, like this one:
http://www.sparkfun.com/products/8269