Netduino home hardware projects downloads community

The Netduino forums have been replaced by new forums at community.wildernesslabs.co. This site has been preserved for archival purposes only and the ability to make new accounts or posts has been turned off.
Photo

Relay enclosure circuit

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 mcinnes01

mcinnes01

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 325 posts
  • LocationManchester UK

Posted 04 January 2012 - 10:28 PM

Hi,

I am part way through building my relay enclosure, this contains 6 large 25amp 480vac relays attached in threes to 2 very large aluminium heat sinks. I've never used relays on mains power before but thought I would play it safe and follow the recommendations on the datasheet, although these aren't officially for relays I think they will be more than good enough.

With the enclosure I plan to make a control board, I going to power my netduino with 12v dc and create a spur to power other devices from this, including 12v pc fans which will be in the relay enclosure along with 2 ds17b20 temperature sensors and few other bits.

This may be over kill, especially since aquarium equipment which it is intended for is seldom much more than 3amps. My aim is to take the 6 digital outs from my shift registers, to 6 transistors that will step the current up to 12 volts to switch the relays. The relays them selves are SSR and switch with logic level of the netduino, but I also want to put an led before the tranistor to indcate which relays are on with panel mount leds on the enclosure.