Netduino home hardware projects downloads community

The Netduino forums have been replaced by new forums at community.wildernesslabs.co. This site has been preserved for archival purposes only and the ability to make new accounts or posts has been turned off.
Photo

Netduino SPI as Slave

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 ColorRed

ColorRed

• Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 07 December 2011 - 02:52 PM

I am a beginner of micro controller area. I have a project I need to set my Netduino as SPI Slave for 2MHz CLK SPI Master. I read from this forum that currently Netduino cannot be set as SPI slave because .NET MF doesn't support it. Does anybody know how to achive it with Netduino? Thank you.

#2 Chris Walker

Chris Walker

Secret Labs Staff

• Moderators
  • 7767 posts
  • LocationNew York, NY

Posted 07 December 2011 - 08:48 PM

Hi ColorRed, We achieve this in some other projects here at Secret Labs by using the SPI Slave feature in native code (and using FIQ to handle the incoming requests). Since SPI Slave is typically a "request and response...with specific timing needs" hardware feature, it is not supported in NETMF. Chris

#3 ColorRed

ColorRed

• Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 07 December 2011 - 09:10 PM

Chris, May I have any resource how you achieved it? I am totally newbie for Netduino (.NET MicroMF, too )and ARM processor. I used Arduino for few weeks. :D I tried to find a way/resource last couple of days, and I found some ideas I may need to do this with interop. Would you please shed some lights here? Thank you, ColorRed.

#4 Chris Walker

Chris Walker

Secret Labs Staff

• Moderators
  • 7767 posts
  • LocationNew York, NY

Posted 08 December 2011 - 06:30 AM

Hi ColorRed,

Implementing FIQ-based interrupts and SPI slave in native code is probably a fairly advanced project.

If you're interested, here are some tips. Writing native code can be a great learning experience and lots of fun.

Chris

#5 ColorRed

ColorRed