I'm pretty psyched to say that I've recently picked up the netduino plus. I'm using the GSIOT book (good stuff btw!) and already have about 20 projects I want to build:)
I ran into an issue with connectivity to pachube (chapter 6 - Hello Pachube) that I was hoping to get some help with. I keep getting the dreaded "System.Net.Sockets.SocketException" exception. Reading through the forums I found a couple of workarounds but they don't solve the issue.
Sometimes I can get it to connect if I simply unplug the Ethernet cable then plug it back in, other times it won't. Sometimes I have to go as far as rebooting my router, but even that doesn't work 100% of the time.
Is there perhaps something I'm not doing that I should to ensure more reliable connectivity or is this an issue that's being addressed in a future update?

Issue connecting via Ethernet
Started by A.Ward, Nov 13 2011 08:56 PM
7 replies to this topic
#1
Posted 13 November 2011 - 08:56 PM
#2
Posted 14 November 2011 - 12:49 PM
Hi A.Ward,
Let's see if we can help solve this. Are you using the .NET MF 4.2 RC3 firmware or the .NET MF 4.1 firmware?
Welcome to the Netduino community,
Chris
#3
Posted 14 November 2011 - 11:44 PM
Thanks for the quick reply Chris! BTW, this is Alex from TR:)
I'm currently running MF 4.1.
#4
Posted 14 November 2011 - 11:57 PM
Hi Alex,
Also, do you have Ethereal (Wireshark)? Any chance you could take a look at what's going on on your network?
There are quite a few bugfixes in TCP/IP with .NET MF 4.2. But there are a few unintended glitches as well. We just saw a few check-ins into the core, and we'll get a 4.2 "RC4" release out soon...which should provide the highest-quality networking stack to date.
Chris
Thanks for dropping by the forums!Thanks for the quick reply Chris! BTW, this is Alex from TR:)
Are you running DHCP or static IP? If DHCP, can you try static IP really quick?I'm currently running MF 4.1.
Also, do you have Ethereal (Wireshark)? Any chance you could take a look at what's going on on your network?
There are quite a few bugfixes in TCP/IP with .NET MF 4.2. But there are a few unintended glitches as well. We just saw a few check-ins into the core, and we'll get a 4.2 "RC4" release out soon...which should provide the highest-quality networking stack to date.
Chris
#5
Posted 16 November 2011 - 12:43 AM
Hi Chris,
I was running DHCP. I just tried a static IP but it didn't seem to make any difference.
I just installed Wireshark. I haven't used anything like it before and I'm not heavy on networking so it'll going to take me a bit to learn about it.
#6
Posted 16 November 2011 - 12:49 AM
Hi A.Ward,
The important thing to figure out is what kind of traffic your Netduino Plus is seeing...and what is happening when you lose connectivity. Is it denial of service? A resetting of the IP address? Etc.
Chris
#7
Posted 21 November 2011 - 01:06 AM
Hi Chris,
I've ran several captures but the netduino never shows up in the list.
Here is the full exception message:
new message: voltage,2.33
time: 01/01/2009 00:09:44
memory available: 20304
#### Exception System.Net.Sockets.SocketException - CLR_E_FAIL (1) ####
#### Message:
#### Microsoft.SPOT.Net.SocketNative::getaddrinfo [IP: 0000] ####
#### System.Net.Dns::GetHostEntry [IP: 0008] ####
#### System.Net.HttpWebRequest::EstablishConnection [IP: 00e1] ####
#### System.Net.HttpWebRequest::SubmitRequest [IP: 0013] ####
#### System.Net.HttpWebRequest::GetRequestStream [IP: 0008] ####
#### Gsiot.PachubeClient.PachubeClient::CreateRequest [IP: 003e] ####
#### Gsiot.PachubeClient.PachubeClient::Send [IP: 0025] ####
#### HelloPachube.Program::Main [IP: 0065] ####
#### SocketException ErrorCode = 10060
#### Exception System.Net.WebException - 0x00000000 (1) ####
#### Message: host not available
#### System.Net.HttpWebRequest::EstablishConnection [IP: 00f1] ####
#### System.Net.HttpWebRequest::SubmitRequest [IP: 0013] ####
#### System.Net.HttpWebRequest::GetRequestStream [IP: 0008] ####
#### Gsiot.PachubeClient.PachubeClient::CreateRequest [IP: 003e] ####
#### Gsiot.PachubeClient.PachubeClient::Send [IP: 0025] ####
#### HelloPachube.Program::Main [IP: 0065] ####
System.Net.WebException: host not available
sleep for 1887 ms
new message: voltage,0.13
time: 01/01/2009 00:10:16
memory available: 20304
EDIT: When I unplug the netduino from my router and plug it into a different port I get this:
DM9161_AutoNegotiate
Valid PHY Found: 31
PHY: Vendor Number Model = 0xA
PHY: Model Revision Number = 0x0
AutoNegotiate complete
EDIT2: If you saw this second edit, nevermind. That was my wife's phone:-)
EDIT3: It doesn't appear that my router is seeing the netduino when I plug it in. I went into my DHCP client table in my router and I see everything on my network except for the netduino
I've ran several captures but the netduino never shows up in the list.
Here is the full exception message:
new message: voltage,2.33
time: 01/01/2009 00:09:44
memory available: 20304
#### Exception System.Net.Sockets.SocketException - CLR_E_FAIL (1) ####
#### Message:
#### Microsoft.SPOT.Net.SocketNative::getaddrinfo [IP: 0000] ####
#### System.Net.Dns::GetHostEntry [IP: 0008] ####
#### System.Net.HttpWebRequest::EstablishConnection [IP: 00e1] ####
#### System.Net.HttpWebRequest::SubmitRequest [IP: 0013] ####
#### System.Net.HttpWebRequest::GetRequestStream [IP: 0008] ####
#### Gsiot.PachubeClient.PachubeClient::CreateRequest [IP: 003e] ####
#### Gsiot.PachubeClient.PachubeClient::Send [IP: 0025] ####
#### HelloPachube.Program::Main [IP: 0065] ####
#### SocketException ErrorCode = 10060
#### Exception System.Net.WebException - 0x00000000 (1) ####
#### Message: host not available
#### System.Net.HttpWebRequest::EstablishConnection [IP: 00f1] ####
#### System.Net.HttpWebRequest::SubmitRequest [IP: 0013] ####
#### System.Net.HttpWebRequest::GetRequestStream [IP: 0008] ####
#### Gsiot.PachubeClient.PachubeClient::CreateRequest [IP: 003e] ####
#### Gsiot.PachubeClient.PachubeClient::Send [IP: 0025] ####
#### HelloPachube.Program::Main [IP: 0065] ####
System.Net.WebException: host not available
sleep for 1887 ms
new message: voltage,0.13
time: 01/01/2009 00:10:16
memory available: 20304
EDIT: When I unplug the netduino from my router and plug it into a different port I get this:
DM9161_AutoNegotiate
Valid PHY Found: 31
PHY: Vendor Number Model = 0xA
PHY: Model Revision Number = 0x0
AutoNegotiate complete
EDIT2: If you saw this second edit, nevermind. That was my wife's phone:-)
EDIT3: It doesn't appear that my router is seeing the netduino when I plug it in. I went into my DHCP client table in my router and I see everything on my network except for the netduino
#8
Posted 21 November 2011 - 01:25 AM
Nevermind. I figured it out. Quit embarrassing that I didn't catch this before I even started posting, but one of the digits on the gateway address had been changed at some point:( I changed it to the correct IP and everything works great now.
Time to have some fun!!!
0 user(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users