Netduino home hardware projects downloads community

The Netduino forums have been replaced by new forums at community.wildernesslabs.co. This site has been preserved for archival purposes only and the ability to make new accounts or posts has been turned off.
Photo

Rotary Encoder Example

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 Greg Mason

Greg Mason

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • LocationPortland, OR, US

Posted 11 July 2011 - 11:17 PM

Started working a temperature controller project of my own a little while ago and now that I think I am starting to get this Netduino stuff, I am going to start posting chunks of our project in hopes of peer review and project advice. I am fairly new to the Netduino but am really liking it as I am enjoying learning .NET a lot more than using C++.

This was my first project on Netduino: Trying to figure out events in .NET. I figured a Rotary Encoder was as good a starting place as any since I needed a driver later on for handling the UI to the LCD panel.

I am publishing this under Beerware license since my long term project is an automated brewing machine:

/// <summary>
    /// Rotary Encoder firmware for SurplusGizmos.com encoder
    /// part no. EC11B15243AY manufactured by Alps Electronics company
    /// http://www.surplusgizmos.com/Rotary-Encoder-w-Momentary-Switch_p_839.html
    /// 
    /// This software is released as beerware under
    /// THE BEER-WARE LICENSE (Revision 42): As long as you retain this notice you
    /// can do whatever you want with this source code. If you think this code is worth it,
    /// you can raise a beer in return - Greg Mason
    /// </summary>
    public class Program
    {
        public static void Main()
        {
            RotaryEncoder_EC11B rotary = new RotaryEncoder_EC11B(Pins.GPIO_PIN_D1, Pins.GPIO_PIN_D2, Pins.GPIO_PIN_D0);
            TestSubscriber sub = new TestSubscriber(rotary);

Thread.Sleep(Timeout.Infinite);
        }
    }

public class TestSubscriber