Netduino home hardware projects downloads community

The Netduino forums have been replaced by new forums at community.wildernesslabs.co. This site has been preserved for archival purposes only and the ability to make new accounts or posts has been turned off.
Photo

GPS - with Sirf Star III module

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 stan4th

stan4th

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 27 posts

Posted 11 June 2011 - 05:57 PM

Hi, I'm new to all this - I got a Sirf Star III module, but it looks to me just to be the chip although its called a module. Is it possible to do anything with this or was it a waste of money? Any help & advice appreciated! Cheers.

#2 Chris Seto

Chris Seto

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 405 posts

Posted 11 June 2011 - 08:31 PM

Link or photo of exactly what you got? Without it we can't help you. :)

#3 stan4th

stan4th

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 27 posts

Posted 12 June 2011 - 06:40 AM

Hi, here's photos of front and back - does this help? Cheers. P.S. here in the UK we don't seem to have such a ready supply of the parts for netduino and such like and where they are available it is quite expensive (especially with excahnge rates as they are). This might mean I'll have to check any suggestions for availability and reasonable pricing! Thanks again.

Attached Files

#4 Nevyn

Nevyn

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1072 posts
  • LocationNorth Yorkshire, UK

Posted 12 June 2011 - 11:06 AM

P.S. here in the UK we don't seem to have such a ready supply of the parts for netduino and such like

I know the feeling :( If you are looking for components (not breakout boards and the like) try Bitsbox. I've used them several times this year and all orders I've placed before 1pm arrive the next day. They don't have the same range as RS etc. but they are cheaper and shipping is £1.50 no matter what size of order.

Hope this helps,
Mark

To be or not to be = 0xFF