Netduino home hardware projects downloads community

The Netduino forums have been replaced by new forums at community.wildernesslabs.co. This site has been preserved for archival purposes only and the ability to make new accounts or posts has been turned off.
Photo

Digital I/Os during power up

• Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

#1 Andrei

Andrei

• Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 29 May 2011 - 08:37 PM

Hi, I am a complete beginner and new to this forum. I have purchased a Netduino together with a relay board (not a relay shield). I have connected the GND and 5V pins on the Netduino board to the GND and VCC input of the relay board. Have connected a couple of the Digital I/Os to the input of the relays. My problem is that when I power the Netduino board, the relays get triggered immediately. It seems that as soon as the Netduino board is powered, the connected Digital I/Os signal a true. I do manage to control the relays correctly according to the C# sample app after the power up of the Netduino board. Do you have and advice how I can avoid the problem? Any help appreciated.

#2 Pete Brown

Pete Brown

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 138 posts
  • LocationAnne Arundel County, MD

Posted 30 May 2011 - 05:42 AM

Hi,
My problem is that when I power the Netduino board, the relays get triggered immediately.
It seems that as soon as the Netduino board is powered, the connected Digital I/Os signal a true.

I'm running into this now with a motor controller controlled via PWM. As soon as I turn the Netduino on, the motors start spinning full-speed. It takes a few seconds for them to stop. Not great for a robot :(

Chris, is there a firmware config option or something to handle this? It happens before our code gets to run.

Pete
Pete Brown - http://10rem.net (NETMF, C++, Windows, C64, and general geekery) Twitter: @pete_brown