Netduino home hardware projects downloads community

The Netduino forums have been replaced by new forums at community.wildernesslabs.co. This site has been preserved for archival purposes only and the ability to make new accounts or posts has been turned off.
Photo

RFM12B Wireless module with Netduino Plus

• Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#1 R.Ganesh

R.Ganesh

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 12 posts
  • LocationSwitzerland

Posted 26 April 2011 - 08:12 AM

Hello all, This is my first project with Netduino platform (using netduino plus variant) - I am trying to integrate the Hope RF's RFM12B module to netduino plus (there is are existing examples for Arduino, AVR etc.). I wrote my own .net mf library for this purpose so that it is easier to debug and change the low level functions. Everything works fine, except that the max baud rate achievable with Netduino plus is 2400 bps. The same code when tested on FEZ Cobra works fine for baud rate upto 115.2 kbps. My test setup: Trying to send 16 bytes. Netduino Plus (Tx) ------> FEZ (Rx) = Max 2400 bps FEZ (Tx) ----------> Netduino Plus (Rx) = Max 2400 bps Netduino Plus(Tx) --------> Netduino Plus (Rx) = Max 2400 bps FEZ (Tx) -----------> FEZ (Rx) = Max 115.2 Kbps. I tried to find out the difference between the two platforms and what seems to be a possible cause is that the netduino plus is slower when it comes to SPI clock frequency (200 kHz, as compared to 20 MHz of FEZ Cobra) and also the time required to accomplish an input port read (to check the RFM ready state) is appox 1.5 ms in netduino plus (as compared to 200 uS in FEZ). The slower read of the RFM's ready state results in longer time required to send the data payload. When only one or two bytes is the length of the payload, the netduino plus is able to send the packets at baud rate of 4800 bps max. Can this issue be really due to slower processing on Netduino? Thanks a lot for any help or pointers! Cheers Ganesh

#2 Chris Walker

Chris Walker