Netduino home hardware projects downloads community

The Netduino forums have been replaced by new forums at community.wildernesslabs.co. This site has been preserved for archival purposes only and the ability to make new accounts or posts has been turned off.
Photo

High Speed Photography

• Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 ULight.Me

ULight.Me

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 12 posts
  • LocationMilton, Ontario

Posted 19 April 2011 - 07:36 PM

After performing a search on this forum I didn't find any information on the topic of High Speed Photography. Question: Would it be possible to trip (close circuit) of a camera flash on (for example) water drop passing through a photo-gate, or bb gun firing or bursting balloon? I imagine it's possible with the netduino. What parts would I need to purchase to achieve this? I'm a noob at all this circuit stuff, I'm fairly comfortable with a soldering iron but I would prefer a solution that's simple to assemble and to operate. I'm very comfortable with scripting languages and development. Thank you in advance.

#2 Mario Vernari

Mario Vernari

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1768 posts
  • LocationVenezia, Italia

Posted 20 April 2011 - 03:40 AM

Hi there. It might be possible, but you should calculate in advance how big could be the maximum error (in time) that is allowed. Netduino uses managed code that is not real-time proof, so if your target is within 1-2 ms (even less) of delay error, that could be possible. Cheers PS: welcome in our forum!
Biggest fault of Netduino? It runs by electricity.

#3 Michel Trahan

Michel Trahan

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 155 posts

Posted 20 April 2011 - 04:25 AM

30fps is about 33ms ... do you have access to the ccd through i2c or serial ? what is the throuhgput available from the netduino compatible camera ? links please :)