Netduino home hardware projects downloads community

The Netduino forums have been replaced by new forums at community.wildernesslabs.co. This site has been preserved for archival purposes only and the ability to make new accounts or posts has been turned off.
Photo

Internet access without a router

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Traveling Tech Guy

Traveling Tech Guy

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 36 posts

Posted 09 April 2011 - 08:49 AM

Hi, Probably a noob question, but would appreciate some help. I have extensive software background, but close to no HW whatsoever (well, I was in charge of a CNC machine once, but I was mostly feeding it metal chips :)). Anyway, just received my N+, ran the mandatory tutorials (blinkey + pushy) and wrote a little Morse Code app. Great. Now it's time for the "plus" part, namely connecting the Netduino to the internet. My router is in the other room, tucked under the TV. All devices in the house use wifi to connect. I read a bit and found that adding wifi capabilities to my board would set me back $60-70 and would require me to start messing around with electronics and shields (like wifly or XBee) which I'm not ready for yet [please correct me if I'm wrong or missing something]. My question is: Would it be possible to connect the board to the laptop I'm using to program it, and somehow get access to the internet + valid IP address? If so, what are the configuration steps? Or do I need to get one of those wifi bridges/hotspots that bridge Ethernet to wifi (like the ASUS WL530g, to name a cheap one)? I see all those great web server and twitter projects and I want to join the party. Just need help getting an IP. Any assistance will be appreciated! Regards, Guy http://blog.TravelingTechGuy.com

#2 Nevyn

Nevyn

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1072 posts
  • LocationNorth Yorkshire, UK

Posted 09 April 2011 - 10:54 AM