Netduino home hardware projects downloads community

The Netduino forums have been replaced by new forums at community.wildernesslabs.co. This site has been preserved for archival purposes only and the ability to make new accounts or posts has been turned off.
Photo

Did I brick my Netduino Plus?

• Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 mattiep321

mattiep321

• Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 08 March 2011 - 10:01 PM

Will plugging in my 9v power supply to the barrel connector while plugged into the usb port turn it into a brick? I'm trying to write an app for the 16x2 LCD and I'm a newb to this (Programming & Electronics). I tried connecting just with the USB cable and using MFDeploy.exe and the hardware doesn't show up when I select USB. What should I do?

#2 Chris Walker

Chris Walker

Secret Labs Staff

• Moderators
  • 7767 posts
  • LocationNew York, NY

Posted 08 March 2011 - 10:11 PM

Hi mattiep321, You can safely plug in both the AC power and USB at the same time. No problem there. Unplug everything from your Netduino--including USB and power and all wires/shields. Then...if you hold down the pushbutton on your Netduino while plugging it in via USB, does it show up on your PC? Chris

#3 jdsmith

jdsmith

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 26 posts

Posted 08 March 2011 - 10:27 PM

I don't mean to hijack the thread, but I think I'm in the same boat. I assume if the board does NOT show up when plugging in via USB with the push button down, the board is dead? My computer pops a toast message that says "Unable to recognize USB device." Power light comes on the board, though.

#4 Dan Morphis

Dan Morphis

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 188 posts

Posted 08 March 2011 - 10:41 PM