Netduino home hardware projects downloads community

Jump to content


Photo

Introducing Netduino 3 Wi-Fi


  • Please log in to reply
92 replies to this topic

#41 phantomtypist

phantomtypist

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 142 posts
  • LocationNew York, NY

Posted 05 May 2015 - 02:34 PM

Repairing the Netduino SDK worked.  Weird.



#42 alexccw74

alexccw74

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 05 May 2015 - 04:26 PM

Hi Chris,

 

Just like to know does N3, supported by VB.net or only c#?

Thanks.



#43 Chris Walker

Chris Walker

    Secret Labs Staff

  • Moderators
  • 7767 posts
  • LocationNew York, NY

Posted 05 May 2015 - 05:11 PM

Repairing the Netduino SDK worked.  Weird.

Windows drivers. Love them, hate them... Love them most of the time :)

Chris

#44 Chris Walker

Chris Walker

    Secret Labs Staff

  • Moderators
  • 7767 posts
  • LocationNew York, NY

Posted 05 May 2015 - 05:12 PM

Hi Chris,
 
Just like to know does N3, supported by VB.net or only c#?
Thanks.

.NET Micro Framework 4.3.1 (running on Netduino 3) supports both Visual Basic and C#.

Chris

#45 Anthony Glenwright

Anthony Glenwright

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 71 posts

Posted 05 May 2015 - 11:31 PM

 

Netduino 3 Wi-Fi uses a special Netduino.IP hybrid networking stack

 

Will the new networking stack support multicast?  Will we have control over the max. number of open sockets?  Is the networking performance improved over that of the Plus 2?



#46 Chris Walker

Chris Walker

    Secret Labs Staff

  • Moderators
  • 7767 posts
  • LocationNew York, NY

Posted 05 May 2015 - 11:35 PM

Hi Anthony,

Will the new networking stack support multicast?  Will we have control over the max. number of open sockets?  Is the networking performance improved over that of the Plus 2?

Networking on NETMF-class devices is designed for lower-bandwidth end nodes (i.e. not video streaming, etc.) The CC3100 can natively transmit more than 10mbps in theory--but there are some practical bottlenecks that can get in the way of that.

On sockets: the hybrid stack supports up to 8 simultaneous non-secure sockets and up to 2 simultaneously SSL/TLS sockets. If you are running a TCP server on the board, that needs 1 socket for the listener and 1 socket per client.

On multicast: are you wanting to subscribe to multicast groups?

BTW, there's a possibility that we can run the full upcoming Netduino.IP stack on CC3100 (using CC3100 as a MAC-layer-only chip). In that scenario you'd be able to open up even more sockets. If that is of interest to many community members, we can put that on the investigation/feature list.

Chris

#47 Anthony Glenwright

Anthony Glenwright

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 71 posts

Posted 06 May 2015 - 12:54 AM

On multicast: are you wanting to subscribe to multicast groups?

 

I've always wanted to make my device SSDP-discoverable.  In order to do that, I need to be able to join a multicast group, with code something like:

        Dim ipAddr As Byte() = localaddress.GetAddressBytes()
        Dim multicastOpt As Byte() = New Byte() {discoveryAddr(0), discoveryAddr(1), discoveryAddr(2), discoveryAddr(3), ipAddr(0), ipAddr(1), ipAddr(2), ipAddr(3)}

        mobjSearchListenerSocket.SetSocketOption(SocketOptionLevel.Socket, SocketOptionName.Broadcast, True)
        mobjSearchListenerSocket.SetSocketOption(SocketOptionLevel.IP, SocketOptionName.MulticastInterface, True)

        mobjSearchListenerSocket.Bind(New IPEndPoint(IPAddress.Any, 1900))
        
        ' This line fails on Netduino 4.2 RC5
        mobjSearchListenerSocket.SetSocketOption(SocketOptionLevel.IP, SocketOptionName.AddMembership, multicastOpt)

So thats what I was asking about RE multicast.

 

My question on the number of sockets:  My use case is that the "client" software is web-based and uses web sockets.  So each connected (web socket) client would use up a socket pretty much permanently, and the web software is served up to the end user browser via a web server.  Modern browsers tend to open multiple connections at once for CSS/JS files, etc so I end up getting connection failures pretty easily.  So I am not after the ability to turn the Netduino into a web server exactly, but I do want to be able to successfully serve up the client software. 

 

I set the cache-control headers so that the files are only served up once - but I still need them to be served up on the initial request successfully.  And if you add a connection to a time server and an SSDP listener, theres another two sockets gone.  So with a total of 8 sockets, I lose 3 to SSDP/NTP/HTTP listener, then when my first client connects and opens a web socket, there's another one gone, leaving me with only 4 sockets.  Once a second client connects, theres another (web) socket gone, leaving me with 3, and most likely limiting me to one concurrent client at once, we web browser tend to open 3 or 4 connections. 

 

The reason that I am serving up the files from the Netduino is to avoid the need for internet connectivity, and to avoid the potential for XSS protection from throwing security exceptions on the browser side.

 

What's the reason for only 8 sockets?  Is it a memory limitation on the CC3100?



#48 Matt Isenhower

Matt Isenhower

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 74 posts
  • LocationSan Diego, CA

Posted 06 May 2015 - 01:36 AM

On multicast: are you wanting to subscribe to multicast groups?


I'd like to second this feature request! That could open the possibility of adding Bonjour (mDNS/DNS-SD). :)
Komodex Labs
Follow me on Twitter: @mattisenhower

#49 Chris Walker

Chris Walker

    Secret Labs Staff

  • Moderators
  • 7767 posts
  • LocationNew York, NY

Posted 06 May 2015 - 02:22 AM

Hi Anthony,

So thats what I was asking about RE multicast.

CC3100 does have some support for UDP multicast built in. We'd need to spend a half day or so mapping the socket options and testing--but basic UDP multicast should be very doable.

Would more community members like to see this feature as a top priority?
 

What's the reason for only 8 sockets? Is it a memory limitation on the CC3100?

It is a hardware limit of the CC3100 module's built-in socket handler. If we can map the full Netduino.IP stack on top of CC3100, this limitation would go away.
[ For most folks 8 sockets is a ton--but I understand and appreciate applications which stretch this limit :) ]

Chris

#50 dino4net

dino4net

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 40 posts

Posted 06 May 2015 - 08:38 AM

Hello,

 

Is there any news regarding a watchdog, and is it possibler to connect an external antenna?

 

Guido



#51 energywave

energywave

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 06 May 2015 - 03:53 PM

1- It's possible to add an external EEPROM (for a dollar or so) to store data via I2C/SPI on Netduino 2s today

2 - There are a lot of improvements we haven't covered yet too ; more to come :)

3 - Any photos you can share on your project with the N2s? We always love seeing the cool stuff that community members are building with Netduinos!

 

1 - Yes I know but adding an external EEPROM implies to make a pcb to make a shield with pins. Doing that implies designing PCB + order PCB + mounting components + various time to make and test it. For a small project like this that's too much (we have to stay low with hardware cost and we're in a hurry)

That would be a viable way the day we'll make a pcb and we'll have more volumes than today.

For now 20 N2 for a customer but not repetitive in short times. We'll make a pcb for our own shield with relays, optocouplers to protect I/O and, maybe, EEPROM. We'll use it for a product we're designing but no short times.  -_-

2 - Cannot wait to read about them  ;)

3 - We are still finalizing it. It will not be so cool to see but I'll make photos and send them to you with some description of the project. N2 will open an important italian church's confessional doors... A strange project  :rolleyes:

 

Henrik



#52 beastyboy

beastyboy

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 193 posts
  • LocationNetherlands

Posted 06 May 2015 - 06:17 PM

Will the Go sockets work with the Shieldbase ?

 

Or even better support multiple Shieldbases? 

 

Cheers Beastyboy


Van SchOten Ict Diensten en Services
http://www.voids.nl


#53 Chris Walker

Chris Walker

    Secret Labs Staff

  • Moderators
  • 7767 posts
  • LocationNew York, NY

Posted 06 May 2015 - 06:34 PM

Hi beastyboy,

Will the Go sockets work with the Shieldbase ?
 
Or even better support multiple Shieldbases?

The production 4.3.2.0 firmware supports all RTM-firmware GoBus modules. It does not (yet) support the beta Shield Base module.

Some details on what we're doing: we have pulled out some of the virtual I/O code required for Shield Base, to upgrade Shield Base drivers and deliver the other new modules with the GoBus 1.5 virtual I/O profiles. We will be adding back in support for Shield Base's virtual I/O over the next 8 weeks as we complete that process.

And yes, with Netduino 3, you will be able to use up to three Shield Bases simultaneously. :) The main limitation there is making sure you have enough mA available to power the modules and anything plugged into them. [We will also be enabling up to two simultaneous Shield Bases on Netduino Go...and then removing that limit once Shield Base moves to SPI transport.]

Netduino Go is also getting an upgrade to 4.3.2.0 this week, as a beta, and we will add the new GoBus 1.5 profile support for Shield Base to that mainboard in parallel as we move it to 4.3.2 RTM firmware status.

Chris

#54 Chris Walker

Chris Walker

    Secret Labs Staff

  • Moderators
  • 7767 posts
  • LocationNew York, NY

Posted 06 May 2015 - 06:38 PM

Hi Henrik,

3 - We are still finalizing it. It will not be so cool to see but I'll make photos and send them to you with some description of the project. N2 will open an important italian church's confessional doors... A strange project  :rolleyes:

Okay, now I _have_ to know what you're working on :) Photos would be awesome!

Chris

#55 Chris Walker

Chris Walker

    Secret Labs Staff

  • Moderators
  • 7767 posts
  • LocationNew York, NY

Posted 06 May 2015 - 06:40 PM

Hi guido,

Is there any news regarding a watchdog, and is it possibler to connect an external antenna?

There is no external antenna connector, although if there was really strong demand we could make a special version with an external antenna connector. There are some FCC/CE regulations around that so it would need to be studied further.

Watchdog is definitely something that we could add to the firmware. Are you looking for something that you could kick frequently--and have the board reboot if your code stopped kicking the watchdog? What kind of time resolution are you looking for (milliseconds? seconds? minutes?) Also--would other be interested in watchdog support?

Chris

#56 beastyboy

beastyboy

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 193 posts
  • LocationNetherlands

Posted 06 May 2015 - 08:19 PM

Just ordered mine from Mouser , damn those euro prices are ridiculous  :rolleyes: well over 80 dollars.

 

But hey now I can use my other go modules  :)

 

Looking forward for the new stuf  :D

 

Beastyboy


Van SchOten Ict Diensten en Services
http://www.voids.nl


#57 dino4net

dino4net

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 40 posts

Posted 07 May 2015 - 08:14 AM

In the moment I use something like a 60s or 90s watchdog. As you say the board is rebooted if the watchdog is not kicked.

Makes it even more reliable.

 

Please :-)

 

I must say, I'm impressed how reliable the Netduino 2 is.



#58 tridy

tridy

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 61 posts
  • LocationStockholm, Sweden

Posted 07 May 2015 - 06:00 PM


Once you know your board's IP address, ping away :)

Does that get you up and running?

Welcome to the Netduino community!

Chris

 

 

Thanks! Got the green light and the IP address!


-=  Genadij  =-

Stockholm, Sweden


#59 cr0w5t3r

cr0w5t3r

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • LocationUK

Posted 07 May 2015 - 08:18 PM

Hi Guys,

 

Just got my first Netduino (Netduino 3 wifi) and I am having a problem when trying to use the GoBus ports. Can you use these ports on .NET Micro Framework 4.3.1 yet? I've tried a number of different things such as pointing to the v4.2 assemblies but no joy (I get an a3000000 error).

 

I followed the below instructions to get my Netduino up and running prior to trying to use the GoBus ports;

  • Installed .NET MF SKD v4.3 R2 (beta)
  • Installed .NET MF v4.3 R2 (beta) add-on for visual studio 2013
  • Installed Netduino SDK v4.3.1

 

Any ideas how I can get around this problem? I can interact with the boards LED without a problem using 4.3 but want to utilise the GoBus features.

 

My set-up is Visual studio 2013 ultimate running Windows 8.1.

 

Any help would be must appreciated :-)

 

Nick



#60 Chris Walker

Chris Walker

    Secret Labs Staff

  • Moderators
  • 7767 posts
  • LocationNew York, NY

Posted 08 May 2015 - 08:16 PM

Hi Anthony,
 

Will the new networking stack support multicast?

Ask and ye shall receive :) We have added experimental support for multicast to the new Netduino 3 Wi-Fi 4.3.2.1 firwmare.
http://forums.netdui...-v432-update-1/

We have also created a new MulticastOption class and SetSocketOption method overload in NetduinoExtensions.dll (in the new Netduino 4.3.2 SDK).

Chris

P.S. Experimental features have not received the same amount of testing as core features and are not (at least yet) officially supported. But we wanted to wire this up for you to help enable your projects; enjoy :)




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

home    hardware    projects    downloads    community    where to buy    contact Copyright © 2016 Wilderness Labs Inc.  |  Legal   |   CC BY-SA
This webpage is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike License.