Netduino home hardware projects downloads community

The Netduino forums have been replaced by new forums at community.wildernesslabs.co. This site has been preserved for archival purposes only and the ability to make new accounts or posts has been turned off.
Photo

Noob Motor Shield questions

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 lex

lex

• Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 21 January 2011 - 07:14 PM

So I'm relatively new to the wonderful world of "dunios". Kudos to the netduino guys for giving a lonely .NET programmer like myself a way to get into the hobby without having to give up my VS :). I finally got the netduino board, and have been messing around with it, cool stuff. My end goal is to drive two big motors on a big robot, but for now, it's more of a proof of concept. i wanted to drive two motors (http://www.sparkfun.com/products/319). To do this I understand that I will need a motor driver shield. When I search for such an item on sparkfun, I only get arduino stuff. I've tried looking through the "compatible shields" on this forum, but didn't find a motor driver shield. Can anyone suggest a shield that is tested and true with the netduino? Thanks Lex

#2 Philip

Philip

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 26 posts
  • LocationPreston, England

Posted 23 January 2011 - 03:34 AM

Hi Lex, I would say that most of them would be OK, since the PWM pins are in the same place on Netduino and Arduino. I used one from DFRobots at http://www.dfrobot.c...9&product_id=59 and it works fine. Its good for about 1A, based on L293 PWM driver chip. Good luck, Phil

#3 Chris Walker

Chris Walker

Secret Labs Staff

• Moderators
  • 7767 posts
  • LocationNew York, NY

Posted 23 January 2011 - 03:38 AM